More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Dead Space Ignition Preview

Kuulei_N By:
Kuulei_N
07/30/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Mini-Game 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Sumo Digital, Visceral Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Is hacking really a crime?


Want to know the events leading up to Dead Space 2? Well, look forward to Dead Space Ignition: a motion comic-style arcade game that takes place on a city in space called the Sprawl, where things eventually go hay-wire. In this prologue, you’re not defeating hideous-looking aliens, but rather playing intense hacking mini-games.

click to enlargeThe storyline starts off simple enough. You’re an engineer named Franco who seems to have some personal history with a female companion named Sarah. Things are not thoroughly explained, though, as Franco is interrupted to check out a malfunctioning door. When he reaches it, it looks as if it as been sabotaged, but why and by who?

Either way, you have some hacking to do. You’re introduced to the game’s first mini-game called Trace Route. Here, you guide a cursor line through obstacles and walls that are decorated with binary code, while you’re also chased by a few enemy A.I.. If you touch the walls, you slow down, allowing the A.I. to catch up. Other obstacles can reverse your controls, making the mini-game even more challenging to complete. You are also given power-ups that you can only use once, two of which can slow down the enemy A.I. by casting a firewall or a block. The other is a speed boost that can aid you to overcome the A.I. if they are ahead. And make sure you don't you lose the race, if you do, it's game over.

click to enlargeFurthermore, Dead Space Ignition offers four different endings. Whichever path you choose will include Trace Route and two other hacking mini-games, called Hardware Crack and System Override. As one of the rewards for completing the game, you will be given unlocks in the full game, such as a new suit for Isaac Clarke, to wear in Dead Space 2.

So you have hacking, new characters, a motion comic, and unlockable content that can be used in Dead Space 2. What else can be expected? Look for our review when Dead Space Ignition releases on Xbox Live Arcade and Playstation Network this fall.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dead Space Ignition