More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pixel Galaxy Preview
Pixel Galaxy asks the question, “Why shoot back at enemies when they can do all the work for you?”
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/01/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Rising Star Games 
DEVELOPER Access Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

I felt guilty.

The two people seeing Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut ahead of me kept pulling posters and games and handmade dolls out of their bags, hoping to get one more signature from game director Hidetaka Suehiro and producer Tomio Kanazawa. It wasn't until that moment that my curiosity transformed into disappointment. I was in way over my head. I had dared interest in Deadly Premonition because of behavior like this, but I'm not the type to mimic it.

"Have you ever played Deadly Premonition before?" I hadn't seen more than screenshots and had only heard about the game's ties to Twin Peaks in passing. Still, Suehiro seemed happier to speak to me than the gushing fans.


As the demo started, Kanazawa translated for Suehiro, saying that Deadly Premonition's upcoming leap to PS3 was actually designed with people like me in mind. Maybe you've heard good things about the title or you've tried it, but couldn't wrap your head around the controls. After the opening cutscene introduced me to the grisly murders players are responsible for solving, Suery explained that every input is customizable, meaning you can try your damnedest to turn the game into a generic third-person shooter.

Of course, that all comes grinding to a halt when players are introduced to Francis Morgan and the voice in his head, Zach. Guiding our hero through the game's plot is the focus in Deadly Premonition. It speaks to the writing's strength that so many could be so emotionally involved in the oddball experience. Maybe the textures and presentation turned you off on Xbox 360. Those aesthetics remain unchanged here, so it's best to let Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut lead the way.

Still, if the difficulty was a problem in the past, you'll be happy to know that the challenge and combat has been tweaked to rest comfortably between Easy and Normal. Even the map has been tweaked to make a significant difference for gamers who struggled with the game in the past.


Still, Suehiro and company weren't content playing to the naysayers. They've added a new framing narrative and a new epilogue for repeat players, as if those people needed much encouragement to revisit the cult classic.

I still felt a little out of the loop when I left, as everyone and their mother from Destructoid filed into the meeting room after me, sandwiching my novice status with heaps of diehard fans. Despite that, I'd never been more enticed by Deadly Premonition's goofy, awkward sense of plot and pacing.

Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut from Rising Star Games is set exclusively for the PlayStation 3 for release at the end of April 2013.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut


More On GameRevolution