More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/01/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Rising Star Games 
DEVELOPER Access Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

I felt guilty.

The two people seeing Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut ahead of me kept pulling posters and games and handmade dolls out of their bags, hoping to get one more signature from game director Hidetaka Suehiro and producer Tomio Kanazawa. It wasn't until that moment that my curiosity transformed into disappointment. I was in way over my head. I had dared interest in Deadly Premonition because of behavior like this, but I'm not the type to mimic it.

"Have you ever played Deadly Premonition before?" I hadn't seen more than screenshots and had only heard about the game's ties to Twin Peaks in passing. Still, Suehiro seemed happier to speak to me than the gushing fans.


As the demo started, Kanazawa translated for Suehiro, saying that Deadly Premonition's upcoming leap to PS3 was actually designed with people like me in mind. Maybe you've heard good things about the title or you've tried it, but couldn't wrap your head around the controls. After the opening cutscene introduced me to the grisly murders players are responsible for solving, Suery explained that every input is customizable, meaning you can try your damnedest to turn the game into a generic third-person shooter.

Of course, that all comes grinding to a halt when players are introduced to Francis Morgan and the voice in his head, Zach. Guiding our hero through the game's plot is the focus in Deadly Premonition. It speaks to the writing's strength that so many could be so emotionally involved in the oddball experience. Maybe the textures and presentation turned you off on Xbox 360. Those aesthetics remain unchanged here, so it's best to let Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut lead the way.

Still, if the difficulty was a problem in the past, you'll be happy to know that the challenge and combat has been tweaked to rest comfortably between Easy and Normal. Even the map has been tweaked to make a significant difference for gamers who struggled with the game in the past.


Still, Suehiro and company weren't content playing to the naysayers. They've added a new framing narrative and a new epilogue for repeat players, as if those people needed much encouragement to revisit the cult classic.

I still felt a little out of the loop when I left, as everyone and their mother from Destructoid filed into the meeting room after me, sandwiching my novice status with heaps of diehard fans. Despite that, I'd never been more enticed by Deadly Premonition's goofy, awkward sense of plot and pacing.

Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut from Rising Star Games is set exclusively for the PlayStation 3 for release at the end of April 2013.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Deadly Premonition: Director's Cut


More On GameRevolution