More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Defiance (2013) Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
03/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action MMO 
PLAYERS 1- 999 
PUBLISHER Trion Worlds 
DEVELOPER Trion Worlds 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Stay on target...

Given that console-bound MMOs have a funny way of disappearing into the ether, I half-expected meteors to rain down upon me and my fellow journalists as we spent some quality time with Trion's Defiance. I had the pleasure of getting an extended hands-on with it awhile back, and liked what I saw, but then again, people thought the same thing about True Fantasy Live Online before it fell off the edge of the planet years ago. But here we are, just weeks away from launch, and Defiance is very much alive and kickingready to provide space-western-themed shooter hijinx to PS3 and 360 players everywhere.

But despite its making waves as the first console MMO in recent memory, Defiance is still making its way to PC. I decided to take it for a spin to see how it stacked up to the 360 version, and unsurprisingly, it was on a whole other level. Not only did it run at a blazing framerate, but textures were sharper and lighting effects were far more pronounced.



In my original preview, I noted that the game just barely avoided looking homely, but after spending time with the PC version, I can safely say it sidesteps the visual woes of the consoles entirely. Controls feel right at home too, with fully customizable key bindings and snappy-feeling mouse aiming. It won't be giving Crysis 3 or The Witcher 2 a run for their graphical money, but it'll still be the preferred platform for anyone with a rig that can run it.

I also got a better look at the skill progression system this time around. Much like Borderlands 2, each class has an action skill that more or less defines it, but learning skills that synergize with it allows you to create a setup that suits your style best. For instance, I like getting up close and personal with shotguns, so the skill that increased my movement speed for short durations seemed ideal. That same ability allows my melee attacks to do their full damage to energy shields as well. Combined with a passive that helps recharge my ability cooldown if I score a melee kill, and I ended up with a character who could get in quick and then quickly pound fools to get my action skill ready for closing the next gap. Since any class can potentially unlock any skill, I'm sure we'll see some interesting setups.



Ultimately, though, whether or not players choose to invest their time will come down to how compelling they find the world of Defiance to be. Given that it ties in directly to the upcoming SyFy show of the same name, there's a lot of potential for players to get sucked in if they like what they see. Imagine if the brilliant Battlestar Galactica remake from a few years ago had been accompanied by a quality MMO experience... I know I wouldn't have been able to stop playing.

Having been lucky enough to catch a full screening of this new show's pilot, I'm not sure if it will reach the heights of Adama, Starbuck, and friends, but it's certainly an order of magnitude better than I expected it to be. Time will tell, but right now, there's a chance that science fiction fans will be getting both an interesting new show, and a fun game with which to further explore it come April.

Also releasing on Xbox 360 and PS3.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Defiance (2013)


More On GameRevolution