More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
03/23/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Eidos Montreal 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

A port that puts other ports to shame.

When I first caught wind that Square Enix was porting Deus Ex: Human Revolution to the Wii U, I dropped my head in my hands in bewilderment. Why would anyone want to purchase a now two-year-old game for their Nintendo console? However, after getting a chance to check out the Director's Cut for myself, it became readily evident that I was completely wrong.

According to one of the reps, this new-and-improved version is "not a simple port." The studio has poured time and effort into making this the "ultimate" version of Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Sorry, PC gamers, but the Wii U has the prettiest version now. The game features new lighting, improved fog and smoke, smoother shadows, and anti-aliasing that results in an overall better visual experience.



But that's only scratching at the surface, as the GamePad is used to its maximum potential as well. Instead of pulling players out of the experience by forcing them to open the start menu constantly, one can simply glance down at the tablet controller to check the map, manage their inventory, and even hack terminals. This allows for both quick access for the player and a deeper level of immersion. Should you choose, you can play the entire game on the GamePad, which is always handy.

Those who have already played through Human Revolution still may want to give this one a look as new augmentations have been added, one of which allows the player to hold up the GamePad to the TV and scan the environment, showing helpful details like an enemy's health. You can also share screenshots, tips, etc. Demon's Souls-style thanks to Miiverse integration.

Had enough yet? No? Okay, well the game features all of the downloadable content, which has been seamlessly integrated into the game. That's rightno having to access The Missing Link from the main menu. Better yet, when you've played through the whole thing, there's reason to go back again, thanks to the addition of New Game Plus, which lets you start the game again with all of your upgrades.




True fans will also get a kick out of the fact that you can play through the game with developer commentarya whopping eight-hours worth! They've also included a digital strategy guide, so should you ever get stuck, you can just pull up a tip and continue on. But all of these additions pale in comparison to the final improvement: remade boss fights. All of the boss encounters have been redone, and while each battle still must end in the foe's demise, you can approach the task in a number of different ways. The level layouts in these situations have been completely revamped, and you can accomplish your goal without ever having to fire a single bullet. Hurray

To make the long story short, Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut is the definitive version of Eidos Montreal's stealth action game. If you've never played the title or consider yourself a die-hard fan, I'd give this game a look when it launches later this year.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut