More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dishonored Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/26/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda Softworks 
DEVELOPER Arkane Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

I put a spell, a sword, and a gun on you.


Don't mess with Corvo. I'm not sure why supervillains think that pissing people off who can kill them—and then not finishing them off—is a good idea. I can understand this from superheroes, but being soft and careless does not a breathing supervillian make. Corvo will make sure of that.



Framed for the assassination of The Empress by the Lord Regent, Corvo immediately loses his position as the royal bodyguard when she is spotted dead in his arms. It's not certain what happens to him thereafter, but he eventually escapes to spend the rest of the game exacting his vengeance. To that end, he encounters a mystical figure called "The Outsider", an ambiguous godlike entity who controls the magic of the game's Neo-Victorian, steampunk world and who offers Corvo a surge of supernatural powers.

The Outsider has been described as "part angel and part devil", which plays perfectly into how Corvo can evoke the power of traditionally dark magic, like possession, wind blasts, and plague animal summoning (death by rats does not sound fun), in his search for truth and justice. Similar to Subject Delta in BioShock 2, also co-developed by Arkane Studios, he can spend blue essence to cast a combination of deadly spells, upgraded by uncovering runes and Bone Charms, as a complement to his legendary prowess with guns and melee weapons. One particularly wicked sequence that the developers were keen to share has Corvo stop time right after a patrol guard fires a bullet, possess the guard, walk him in front of the bullet, release possession and time, and gleefully watch the guard choke on his own blood. If karma is a bitch, then Corvo owns her.



The flexibility of his powers extends to the combat, which if you so choose, can be ignored entirely. Every boss can be handled non-lethally, and every guard can be spared. It's more challenging and much less sadistically fun having to sneak around and search for alternate paths, but there is a certain pleasure finding crafty ways to take out a target. Sometimes that means teleporting behind cover, possessing a fish that can swim through the building pipes, or pulling some strings with the religious Abbey of the Everyman. How many lives you spare or kill will be reflected in the environment in some manner, like more rats if you're more ruthless, and will determine the ending you receive. Some story-based decisions will also have an effect, but your gameplay choices are as, if not more, important.

If the screenshots don't already speak to its intriguingly unusual art style, Dishonored has a deliberately bleak but intense aesthetica severe elegancetailored uniforms, smoothly cut masonry, geometric landscaping. It merges the regal qualities of London and steampunk without including the usually overhanded use of pipes and clockwork to create a distorted reality that doesn't point to the past, present, or future, but all three simultaneously. The intentional lack of green in the color palette suggests the unnatural undertones of the detailed, cel-shaded parallel world. It's washed out, weathered, flushed, like an antique doll face.



Innovation is scarce, even among new IPs, and everyone knows that people may clamor for innovation but they're not easily impressed. Dishonored won't have that problem. It is now one of this editor's most anticipated games for E3 and for when it releases some time later this year.
More GR previews for this game:
Dishonored preview posted on 04/26/12.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dishonored


More On GameRevolution