More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Disney Interactive Studios 
DEVELOPER Junction Point Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Mickey and Oswald, sitting in a tree…


I made no secret of my disappointment with Epic Mickey. The game’s potential was nearly limitless, but it got bogged down with technical flaws that killed much of the fun. The concept, however, is still great, and I’m approaching Epic Mickey 2 with (much more cautious) optimism.



The main difference between this game and the first is that Oswald the Rabbit, Mickey’s misunderstood rival, is now good buddies with everyone’s favorite mouse and helps out in cooperative play. A second player can now control Oswald in split-screen, or the AI can take over when you go it alone.
 
Mickey’s abilities are by and large the same as they were in the first game, painting in objects or thinning them to solve puzzles and fight bad guys. Not content to just be a Mickey clone, Oswald is a distinctly different character. Instead of a double jump, he can glide around with his ears (being the Tails to Mickey’s Sonic, if you will), and his weapon of choice is a remote control that has nothing to do with the paint and thinner mechanics. Oswald uses his remote to fire electric beams that can power machinery, turn hostile robots friendly, and release electrical blasts in combat. Both Mickey’s and Oswald’s abilities need to be used in tandem to properly explore the world and take down bosses.


 
The best news to me, though, is that most of my gripes with the first game are gone. The environments are brighter and have lost their overly murky and muddled appearance, and the collision detection is far more accurate. While the quality of the camera can’t be thoroughly determined just from a demo, it didn’t seem to get snagged on anything this time around.
 
I’m keeping several fingers crossed and hoping that this time, Epic Mickey gets the fundamentals right so that the game can truly shine. Epic Mickey 2 has been slated for a November 18, 2012 release date.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two


More On GameRevolution