More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Disney Interactive Studios 
DEVELOPER Junction Point Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Mickey and Oswald, sitting in a tree…


I made no secret of my disappointment with Epic Mickey. The game’s potential was nearly limitless, but it got bogged down with technical flaws that killed much of the fun. The concept, however, is still great, and I’m approaching Epic Mickey 2 with (much more cautious) optimism.



The main difference between this game and the first is that Oswald the Rabbit, Mickey’s misunderstood rival, is now good buddies with everyone’s favorite mouse and helps out in cooperative play. A second player can now control Oswald in split-screen, or the AI can take over when you go it alone.
 
Mickey’s abilities are by and large the same as they were in the first game, painting in objects or thinning them to solve puzzles and fight bad guys. Not content to just be a Mickey clone, Oswald is a distinctly different character. Instead of a double jump, he can glide around with his ears (being the Tails to Mickey’s Sonic, if you will), and his weapon of choice is a remote control that has nothing to do with the paint and thinner mechanics. Oswald uses his remote to fire electric beams that can power machinery, turn hostile robots friendly, and release electrical blasts in combat. Both Mickey’s and Oswald’s abilities need to be used in tandem to properly explore the world and take down bosses.


 
The best news to me, though, is that most of my gripes with the first game are gone. The environments are brighter and have lost their overly murky and muddled appearance, and the collision detection is far more accurate. While the quality of the camera can’t be thoroughly determined just from a demo, it didn’t seem to get snagged on anything this time around.
 
I’m keeping several fingers crossed and hoping that this time, Epic Mickey gets the fundamentals right so that the game can truly shine. Epic Mickey 2 has been slated for a November 18, 2012 release date.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two