More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

DmC: Devil May Cry Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Ninja Theory 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This ain’t Dan Brown’s version of Angels and Demons.


I’m just going to lead with the fact that the enclosed demo booth for DmC at E3 showcased a booth babe swaying around sexily on a stripper pole. Just wanted to get that out of the way before I forgot.



But if you could peel your eyes away from that, they were also showing a video game. It’s a new Devil May Cry, reimagined, re-envisioned, retold—all those adjectives that marketing people use these days to say “reboot” without actually saying it. And that worked just fine for me, since I hadn’t played the series before.

But I am familiar with its over-the-top style, and I can confidently say that it is very much intact. It is, however, done in a different way—a more juvenile, flippant approach which accurately reflects the younger, brasher, more arrogant Dante in this DmC. You might be familiar with Dante’s big mouth and bigger ego, but he does not yet have the demon-killing chops in this game to back it up. In fact, the game’s style, attitude, sense of humor, and liberal use of profanity reminded me very much of Shadows of the Damned every step of the way, which should be taken as good news considering how much I enjoyed that game.



Combat is of course fast and furious, featuring Dante’s trademark sword and pistols. But DmC also features a dynamic weapon system—holding the triggers down alters Dante’s attacks. The left trigger activates “Angel” attacks and the right one activates “Demon”, which makes sense considering that Dante’s revised heritage in this game gives him parentage from both those realms. Angel attacks involve a giant blue scythe, while Demon attacks feature a powerful axe.

The most engaging part of the combat was that Angel mode gave Dante a whip-like strike that could pull him towards enemies, even propelling him almost infinitely up into the air with flying foes. The Demon version pulled enemies toward him, and using both of these abilities in conjunction allowed for some really stylish moves. They’re also used in puzzle-solving: To navigate the constantly morphing landscape in the demo, you needed to pull distant platforms out of walls with the Demon whip and pull yourself to them with the Angel one.



The later boss battle required using the Angel whip to swing from one platform to another, Castelvania-style, whenever the boss spewed acid on the current platform, then using the Demon whip to unhook the boss from the cables suspending it from the ceiling. The level of integration that these whip mechanics have in the gameplay is very promising for delivering an intense, exciting DMC that still does something distinctly different from its predecessors.

You’ll be able to check out Dante’s new attitude and look (sans the booth babe on stripper pole, sadly) when the game launches early next year.
Tags:   E3, Capcom, Devil May Cry

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about DmC: Devil May Cry