More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

DmC: Devil May Cry Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Ninja Theory 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This ain’t Dan Brown’s version of Angels and Demons.


I’m just going to lead with the fact that the enclosed demo booth for DmC at E3 showcased a booth babe swaying around sexily on a stripper pole. Just wanted to get that out of the way before I forgot.



But if you could peel your eyes away from that, they were also showing a video game. It’s a new Devil May Cry, reimagined, re-envisioned, retold—all those adjectives that marketing people use these days to say “reboot” without actually saying it. And that worked just fine for me, since I hadn’t played the series before.

But I am familiar with its over-the-top style, and I can confidently say that it is very much intact. It is, however, done in a different way—a more juvenile, flippant approach which accurately reflects the younger, brasher, more arrogant Dante in this DmC. You might be familiar with Dante’s big mouth and bigger ego, but he does not yet have the demon-killing chops in this game to back it up. In fact, the game’s style, attitude, sense of humor, and liberal use of profanity reminded me very much of Shadows of the Damned every step of the way, which should be taken as good news considering how much I enjoyed that game.



Combat is of course fast and furious, featuring Dante’s trademark sword and pistols. But DmC also features a dynamic weapon system—holding the triggers down alters Dante’s attacks. The left trigger activates “Angel” attacks and the right one activates “Demon”, which makes sense considering that Dante’s revised heritage in this game gives him parentage from both those realms. Angel attacks involve a giant blue scythe, while Demon attacks feature a powerful axe.

The most engaging part of the combat was that Angel mode gave Dante a whip-like strike that could pull him towards enemies, even propelling him almost infinitely up into the air with flying foes. The Demon version pulled enemies toward him, and using both of these abilities in conjunction allowed for some really stylish moves. They’re also used in puzzle-solving: To navigate the constantly morphing landscape in the demo, you needed to pull distant platforms out of walls with the Demon whip and pull yourself to them with the Angel one.



The later boss battle required using the Angel whip to swing from one platform to another, Castelvania-style, whenever the boss spewed acid on the current platform, then using the Demon whip to unhook the boss from the cables suspending it from the ceiling. The level of integration that these whip mechanics have in the gameplay is very promising for delivering an intense, exciting DMC that still does something distinctly different from its predecessors.

You’ll be able to check out Dante’s new attitude and look (sans the booth babe on stripper pole, sadly) when the game launches early next year.
Tags:   E3, Capcom, Devil May Cry

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about DmC: Devil May Cry


More On GameRevolution