More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.

An Updating List of Xbox One Updates We Want
Microsoft has launched Xbox One and done its best to follow Sony's lead and its even secured some exclusive software, but we want more.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/18/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Retro 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

If you like pina coladas…


Donkey Kong Country returned on the Wii just a few years back, and that same game re-returned to the 3DS a month ago. Now the franchise is back again on the Wii U, bringing little new to the table aside from HD visuals and a twisting-turning 3D background. But that’s all that's needed, really.

The gameplay is just as stellar as you would expect. Platforming, tossing enemies, and blasting from barrel to barrel in a massive banana smash-n-grab is good clean fun—especially for a species known for throwing its feces. But gameplay is rarely an issue with mainstay Nintendo franchises. However, it seems that pushing the envelope is becoming one.



Like Super Mario 3D World, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze doesn’t innovate in any way, nor does it use the Wii U GamePad as an example of why it was a necessary addition to the Wii U as a console. In fact, you can play with only Wiimotes—no GamePad is necessary. Nothing is added to the experience, but it also doesn’t get in the way of anything, and at the very least can be used for off-TV play. I got to try the off-TV play as well as on-TV play, and the two methods were exact duplicates.

But we’ve waited a long time for HD Nintendo games—a whole generation too late, mind you—so on an HDTV is where you’ll appreciate the incredibly detailed environments and the corkscrew-like twisting 3D stages. These add much depth to the action around you, despite not being able to dive into it yourself. But as you do progress through the stage or are shot out of barrel after barrel, you’ll notice that subtle turning effect.



The game’s subtitled Tropical Freeze due to some elements being added. For example, swimming in water-based island stages makes a comeback and is something that was missed in DKC Returns. And although I didn’t get to experience it myself, the Freeze aspect will be some ice stages that make for slip-and-slide platforming.

Fans will be happy to know that not only can you team up cooperatively with Diddy, but Dixie Kong is back after nearly a decade hiatus. Diddy’s got a jetpack that’ll help reach otherwise inaccessible places and can hop on Donkey Kong’s back.

If you’ve played Donkey Kong Country or, more recently, Donkey Kong Country Returns on either Wii or 3DS and enjoyed it, you’ll love everything Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has to offer. The game serves as a fun platformer with classic gameplay and characters, a HD visual treat, but falls shy of being a reason to own a Wii U. It’s developed by Retro and there’s plenty of time from now until it releases, so hopefully that’ll change.
More GR previews for this game:
Hands-On January 2014 posted on 01/19/14.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze


More On GameRevolution