More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Double Dragon: Neon Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Majesco 
DEVELOPER WayForward Technologies 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Partial Nudity, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Careful, bitches.


After my Zumba-ing and sweating like a crazed pig, I was on an appointment to go and see Double Dragon: Neon. I haven't had myself a good flashback in a while, so having the chance to experience a notable name from the resurgence of gaming in the last 1980s makes me tingle.

DD Neon is not to be confused with a remake, but a re-imagining of the series. The classic setupgirlfriend is socked in the gut and taken over a jerk's shoulderand start are there, complete with roaming up and down the street and assaulting S&M-ready dominatrixes, but the rest is a bit of this and that from previous entries to create something new from something old.



While it's one of the older breed of the "roaming brawler" genre and as heavy on story as any others have been, DD feels solid and nostalgic while bringing players together this time around. Classic moves like jumping spin kicks and ground-and-pound tactics are there, but what's interesting are the minor "bro-tastic" ways to balance out games with friends.

One example is that if one player's health starts to get too low, the two players can high-five each other, and if that's successful, the average of their health is used to even out the playing field. If one player decides to be a total butt-head, they can "go low" and simply take some of the other player's remaining health. But if both players go low at the same time, they both lose a bit of health. It's the Double Dragon equivalent of what's known as the DBAD rule: Don't Be A Dick.



Double Dragon Neon played well enough, and it may look like a downloadable brawler (which is fitting since it is one), but it does the trick. It's meant to be a taste of what used to be, and in that there's something to find here. It's not going to revolutionize anything, and it's what the average person will think a game to be: a simple diversion from reality for the few minutes between crippling sadness and surfing through channels. Unless the developers are planning something unique, expect this one to be exactly as it appears.

It should be out before the end of the summer though (there wasn't a solid release schedule as of press time), so it could help pass the time between homework assignments at the beginning of the new semester.
More GR previews for this game:
Double Dragon: Neon preview posted on 04/09/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Double Dragon: Neon


More On GameRevolution