More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Double Dragon: Neon Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Majesco 
DEVELOPER WayForward Technologies 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Partial Nudity, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Careful, bitches.


After my Zumba-ing and sweating like a crazed pig, I was on an appointment to go and see Double Dragon: Neon. I haven't had myself a good flashback in a while, so having the chance to experience a notable name from the resurgence of gaming in the last 1980s makes me tingle.

DD Neon is not to be confused with a remake, but a re-imagining of the series. The classic setupgirlfriend is socked in the gut and taken over a jerk's shoulderand start are there, complete with roaming up and down the street and assaulting S&M-ready dominatrixes, but the rest is a bit of this and that from previous entries to create something new from something old.



While it's one of the older breed of the "roaming brawler" genre and as heavy on story as any others have been, DD feels solid and nostalgic while bringing players together this time around. Classic moves like jumping spin kicks and ground-and-pound tactics are there, but what's interesting are the minor "bro-tastic" ways to balance out games with friends.

One example is that if one player's health starts to get too low, the two players can high-five each other, and if that's successful, the average of their health is used to even out the playing field. If one player decides to be a total butt-head, they can "go low" and simply take some of the other player's remaining health. But if both players go low at the same time, they both lose a bit of health. It's the Double Dragon equivalent of what's known as the DBAD rule: Don't Be A Dick.



Double Dragon Neon played well enough, and it may look like a downloadable brawler (which is fitting since it is one), but it does the trick. It's meant to be a taste of what used to be, and in that there's something to find here. It's not going to revolutionize anything, and it's what the average person will think a game to be: a simple diversion from reality for the few minutes between crippling sadness and surfing through channels. Unless the developers are planning something unique, expect this one to be exactly as it appears.

It should be out before the end of the summer though (there wasn't a solid release schedule as of press time), so it could help pass the time between homework assignments at the beginning of the new semester.
More GR previews for this game:
Double Dragon: Neon preview posted on 04/09/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Double Dragon: Neon


More On GameRevolution