More Reviews
REVIEWS Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.

Citizens of Earth Review
Do you like turn-based RPGs? Do you enjoy laughter? Does your hair contain enough product to qualify you to be VP of an entire planet? If so, then you'll enjoy playing Citizens of Earth.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Codename S.T.E.A.M. Preview
I went hands-on and nearly burned myself with “New” Nintendo 3DS hardware and the latest from Intelligent Systems. Aren’t you happy?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES 5 Best Zelda Games of All Time
Nintendo's epic adventure series has seen many entries over the years. Here are the very best of the bunch.

Blades of Steel, NHL 94, More 90's Hockey - Old Games With Grandpa Heath
If Captain Comic were picking players for a pickup hockey game, who would be his first choice? Probably Cliff Ronning.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Dragon Age 2: Legacy Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/20/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Bioware 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Content, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Hawke this, Hawke that. Why does everything fall to me?


It's curious how every game released before E3 seems like such a distant memory for an attendee like me. I feel like I reviewed Dragon Age II at least half a year ago, particularly because there was no talk of even Dragon Age II DLC at E3, but it's actually only been four months. So it was almost a surprise that the first Dragon Age II DLC since the game's launch was fully unveiled no more than several weeks before this writing at EA's Summer Showcase in Redwood Shores. Since EA's acquisition of BioWare, the developer usually has expansion DLC planned well ahead of time, so it is perhaps with the rough spread of reviews for Dragon Age II that Bioware decided to give Legacy more time to simmer, all in good measure.



Similar to the downloadable missions for Mass Effect 2, Legacy comes before the ending of Dragon Age II and can be accessed as soon as players have a message box at their home base. Though this does not suppress the perception that Legacy was withheld intentionally from the main game for the sake of DLC, it has the potential to reveal a missing and significant piece of the story: the history of Hawke's family. It's not certain whether this means Hawke will be exploring his hometown Lothering in Ferelden, but at the very least, it will delve into the plight of Hawke's father as an apostate. In a moment of eavesdrop during the demo, Hawke's enemies comment on needing to find a vial of blood from Hawke's deceased father, probably to unlock a seal around a treasure room and of course a big, bad monster.

To prevent their plundering from the family bloodline, Hawke and his chosen party must match swords with more than just the common Carta thug, brontos, and rage wraiths. Several Harlock Alphas now have the bright idea of carrying a body-sized metal shield to block all frontal assaults, forcing you to reach its backside to inflict any damage, but that's nothing compared to the boss in the demo. After navigating though a Grey Warden prison and the cavernous ruins along an underground river leading to a looming, circular tower, a guardian beast appears in sudden retaliation and can evade all attacks just by phasing and splitting into multiple mirages.



With steel and mettle, however, Hawke can come away with not only answers to the family's lineage, but also a sword that can be imbued with special properties. Defeating the guardian allows Hawke to touch one of three pillars – Stun Chance, Speed Reduction, and Critical Chance – as a magical enhancement for the sword. Of course, that is probably not the only opportunity of weapon forgery in Legacy, but whatever the case, players will be able to bring back a customizable badass weapon to the main story.

Dragon Age II: Legacy arrives July 26 for PC, PSN, and Xbox Live.
More GR previews for this game:
Dragon Age 2: Legacy preview posted on 07/20/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dragon Age 2: Legacy