More Reviews
REVIEWS Devil's Third Review
Creator Tomonobu Itagaki said this game would be “revolutionary.” He was wrong.

Little Battlers eXperience Review
Tiny robots fighting for prizes is better than pocket monsters fighting, right? Right?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Supernova Preview
Primal Game Studios has tuned Supernova since last I saw it, with more commanders, special abilities, and a faster pace.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: Out Now

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LATEST FEATURES MGSV: The Phantom Pain De-Emphasizes Story and It Works
Actually playing Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain is the best part of the game, which may be a first for the series.

Kojima Responds To Konami By Placing More Than 60 Credit Screens In MGSV: The Phantom Pain
Made by Hideo Kojima. Written by Hideo Kojima. Produced by Hideo Kojima. Created by Hideo Kojima. Directed by Hideo Kojima...

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Dragon Age: Inquisition Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER BioWare 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

I dare inquire.

At E3 2014, I attended the same Dragon Age: Inquisition that forged the preview from our fellow writer Jessica Vazquez, and as we watched the female Qunari mage on screen fire magical blasts at swooping dragons (swooping is still bad), we both had the same thought: Why isn't this hands-on? All the 30-minute presentation accomplished was whetting our collective appetite for cleansing the continent of Thedas of overzealous templars and sacrilegious blood mages. Luckily, I wouldn't have to wait too long, as BioWare graciously allowed for a hands-on opportunity of the exact E3 demo behind closed doors.
 
Without a doubt, if the words emblazoned on the top-left corner of the screen weren't clear enough, the demo was clearly an alpha build. I was encouraged to explore the Hinterlands as the female human warrior, which was randomly selected for me, but was told right from the beginning not to venture west. Most of the NPCs had no interaction prompt, the amount of experience from eradicating foes was negligible on purpose, and jumping repeatedly was much faster than walking (I mentioned that speedruns would be littered with jumping, which prompted the developer to say that it would be fixed).


 
Traipsing about the valley, my party of fourincluding Ironbull the Qunari mercenary tank, Sera the elven archer, and Vivienne the Orlesian magescoured the majesty of the countryside, filled with foliage, brooks, and craggy pathways. Leading the party as the Inquisitor, I peered behind every nook and cranny to gather spindleweed, embrium, and elfroot for crafting potions, used by selecting them by popping up the radial menu. The left shoulder button can also be given a tap for a quick heal, but this function might be disabled in the final build.
 
Adventuring with a healthy stock of healing potions is important since party members don't heal in between battles like usual (or at least in this build), so you'll need to decide how long your party can venture into the wilds before retreating to a safe location. We'll see, though, whether a wizard can specialize as a healer to lengthen the time before restocking on potions. Either way, being a completionist and explorer will give you enough ingredients to fabricate enough reserves for the boss fight and the battles leading up to it.
 
Beyond that, players can gather minerals, metals, and schematics for weapons crafting, which unfortunately wasn't shown in great detail. But from what the developer described, a schematic will leave the player a wide amount of options; for instance, making a sword hilt or blade can be done by combining any number of metals together. Melding the same metals or a specific combination of metals will make the weapon stronger, so there looks to be a tier system at play.
 
In between the numerous dialogue options and resource gathering, your party must contend with the ongoing battle between the templars and mages, which will likely drop by the wayside early in the game. The more pressing issue is the manifestation of multiple rifts from the Fade which have appeared across the land spawning demons that must be closed. As usual, you can pause combat at any time to issue orders for each party member, outside of the user-set automated tactics, like maneuvering your team around glyphs and knocking out the healers first.


 
Everything from skill usage and unit positioning needs considerationordering Ironbull to hold a position near chokepoints, Vivienne to blast ice and freeze heavy soldiers with metal tower shields, and Sera to pin foes in their place. As a warrior with templar-like abilities, I called down Maker's Wrath multiple times to stun and damage nearby enemies much like Holy Smite from Origins. I didn't have much time to explore the multiple sets of abilities pre-assigned to my character, but suffice to say that there are plenty to mix and match.
 
Clearing threats and exploring an area thoroughly will reveal spots for the inquisition to claim as its own. Not only will this expand the influence of your order from Skyhold, but allow for the reconstruction of infrastructure like bridges so long as you have accumulated enough resources. Setting up camps and outposts will provide stations for potion refills and crafting that will increase the mobility of your party and help re-establish order and fill out the remainder of the extremely vast map.

Dragon Age: Inquisition will release for PC, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, and Xbox One on October 7, 2014.
More GR previews for this game:
Dragon Age: Inquisition preview posted on 06/11/14.
Dragon Age: Inquisition preview posted on 11/03/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dragon Age: Inquisition


More On GameRevolution