More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dragon's Crown Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/20/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Vanillaware 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Much more than tits.
 
Perhaps you've heard of Dragon's Crown in context to the, let's say, magical endowment of The Sorceress. Knee-jerk criticism has been thrown at the developers and artists for objectifying her. But cultural differences between Japan and America aside, while they do bounce around quite a lot especially when The Sorceress is casting spells, she's not meant to be realistic. The Fighter has a ridiculous upper body, The Amazon has ridiculous thighs, The Dwarf has ridiculous brawn, and The Sorceress has ridiculous boobs. It all fits the cartoonish yet gorgeous animated art style, and it's not like she isn't a strong, sexy character in her own right. All told, in the worst case scenario, I don't believe this is necessarily bad press.
 
Even if the Sorceress had average-sized assets, Dragon's Crown deserves all the praise; in fact, if Game Revolution were to award a Best of E3 Award for a Vita title, Dragon's Crown would have won in my book. It takes the best elements of traditional side-scrolling beat-'em-ups, like the under-rated Knights of the Round and Dungeons & Dragons for the arcade, and layers it with the majestic, vivid, almost hand-painted graphics of Muramasa: The Demon Blade and Odin Sphere. The result is exuberant and glorious.


 
Whether you choose to be the Fighter, Amazon, Elf, Sorceress, Wizard, or Dwarf, the mission is the same: conquer each stage by traveling through each side-scrolling environment and defeating any grunts and bosses that might block your way. Each character has distinct strengths and abilities, with the Sorceress and Wizard casting magical spells while the Amazon and Dwarf can jump around the screen dishing out physical damage from all sides. Combat has a strong sense of speed and balance between precision and playfulness, like a mature version of Castle Crashers.
 
At times, the story will branch into several directions, asking you whether you want to fight or flee, search for alternate routes, or steal an item that you probably shouldn't take. The mission of this party of six is to prevent a sinister group of sorcerers from finding the legendary "Dragon's Crown," so taking many different paths is likely a good idea anyway. For a more discrete objective (and a fine reward), you can accept quests in town which serves as your central hub and resting ground in between missions. Here, you can spend any collected loot on additional weapons, equipment, and items, and you can safely distribute points and obtain new moves with each level-up.


 
Better yet, the entire experience accommodates co-operative play of up to four players over PlayStation Vita and PlayStation 3. The Atlus booth at E3 featured a four-player local co-op where I and three fellow attendees slaughtered every stage, but also competed against each other for the highest score (and thereby more bonus experience points). Without a doubt, it was among the best playable multiplayer demonstrations at E3 2013.
 
Dragon's Crown was a Vita system-seller for me when it was first announced last year, and it's still one today. Look for it to release on August 6, 2013 for Vita at $39.99 and for PlayStation 3 at $49.99.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dragon's Crown


More On GameRevolution