More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Dragon's Crown Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/20/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atlus 
DEVELOPER Vanillaware 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Much more than tits.
 
Perhaps you've heard of Dragon's Crown in context to the, let's say, magical endowment of The Sorceress. Knee-jerk criticism has been thrown at the developers and artists for objectifying her. But cultural differences between Japan and America aside, while they do bounce around quite a lot especially when The Sorceress is casting spells, she's not meant to be realistic. The Fighter has a ridiculous upper body, The Amazon has ridiculous thighs, The Dwarf has ridiculous brawn, and The Sorceress has ridiculous boobs. It all fits the cartoonish yet gorgeous animated art style, and it's not like she isn't a strong, sexy character in her own right. All told, in the worst case scenario, I don't believe this is necessarily bad press.
 
Even if the Sorceress had average-sized assets, Dragon's Crown deserves all the praise; in fact, if Game Revolution were to award a Best of E3 Award for a Vita title, Dragon's Crown would have won in my book. It takes the best elements of traditional side-scrolling beat-'em-ups, like the under-rated Knights of the Round and Dungeons & Dragons for the arcade, and layers it with the majestic, vivid, almost hand-painted graphics of Muramasa: The Demon Blade and Odin Sphere. The result is exuberant and glorious.


 
Whether you choose to be the Fighter, Amazon, Elf, Sorceress, Wizard, or Dwarf, the mission is the same: conquer each stage by traveling through each side-scrolling environment and defeating any grunts and bosses that might block your way. Each character has distinct strengths and abilities, with the Sorceress and Wizard casting magical spells while the Amazon and Dwarf can jump around the screen dishing out physical damage from all sides. Combat has a strong sense of speed and balance between precision and playfulness, like a mature version of Castle Crashers.
 
At times, the story will branch into several directions, asking you whether you want to fight or flee, search for alternate routes, or steal an item that you probably shouldn't take. The mission of this party of six is to prevent a sinister group of sorcerers from finding the legendary "Dragon's Crown," so taking many different paths is likely a good idea anyway. For a more discrete objective (and a fine reward), you can accept quests in town which serves as your central hub and resting ground in between missions. Here, you can spend any collected loot on additional weapons, equipment, and items, and you can safely distribute points and obtain new moves with each level-up.


 
Better yet, the entire experience accommodates co-operative play of up to four players over PlayStation Vita and PlayStation 3. The Atlus booth at E3 featured a four-player local co-op where I and three fellow attendees slaughtered every stage, but also competed against each other for the highest score (and thereby more bonus experience points). Without a doubt, it was among the best playable multiplayer demonstrations at E3 2013.
 
Dragon's Crown was a Vita system-seller for me when it was first announced last year, and it's still one today. Look for it to release on August 6, 2013 for Vita at $39.99 and for PlayStation 3 at $49.99.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dragon's Crown