More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dungeons & Dragons Daggerdale Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/29/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Bedlam Games 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

Upon the lofty pedestal, you discover an ancient artifact known as the controller.


In the dysfunctional family of video games, Dungeons & Dragons is like that grandpa who begins every sentence with "you know, back in my day...". Oh, don't get him started, or he'll start talking about magic missiles, cross-class feats, a +3 stone of grinding, and necrotic ball pits filled with evil dodecahedrons. But as much as we would like to dismiss Dungeons & Dragons as an irrelevant, bygone artifact, no one can deny its influence on BioWare and Bethesda and nearly all Western role-playing games. There's little reason why we don't have a modern reincarnation of a Dungeons & Dragons title, especially with the more action-inspired 4th Edition ruleset, a void which Atari wishes to fill with Dungeons & Dragons: Daggerdale.

click to enlargeFor comparison, Daggerdale plays much like a hybrid of Baldur's Gate and Gauntlet Legends except for being much more grounded in the D&D system, to the point where you can almost see d8s being thrown in the background. Daggerdale itself is already steeped in D&D lore as a region that has an extraordinary and rugged history involving the Desertsmouth Mountains, Jhaamdathan settlers, Tethyamar dwarvers, Zhentarim, and now Rezlus, a nefarious sorcerer who seeks to control Daggerdale. It's your job to cut your way through his minions as you descend into the dwarven mines and root out this new evil.

Players can select from four standard builds that pair a race and class - human warrior, dwarven battle priest, elven rogue, and halfling wizard - all of whom play as you would expect them to. Each build has differing weapon proficiencies based on class, stat bonuses for race, starting equipment, battle styles, and abilities. No matter which build you choose, you have a standard attack and a ranged weapon that never runs out of ammo, which can create what is essentially the axe-throwing madness of Gauntlet Legends. Since health potions tend to be scarce at times and don't heal that many points, throwing safe ranged attacks with knockback effects can help clear crowds more effectively than simply storming into battle against a throng of elite goblins and annoying hex witches.

This lean toward a defensive strategy is evident when you're flying solo, even with a melee-based class like the human warrior. It quickly becomes a battle of letting your crowd-clearing abilities recharge before delving into another group of enemies, who spawn with high frequency; there's no such thing as clearing an area here. On the upside, this encourages players to ban together in a party of up to four, hopefully with members who have healing spells. Otherwise, it's all about abusing the town cleric to health your wounds for free instead of slurping down six health potions like thin strawberry Kool-Aid.

click to enlargeAs usual, gaining new equipment and accessories help tremendously, not only in upping a player's armor class, but substantially increasing damage output beyond the base weapon. Most of the time, a weapon has a large range of possible damage like 1-8 or 2-10, so any rings or helms that add elemental damage is golden. On top of adding assured damage, it can also deal temporary side effects on opponents like slowing a skeleton warrior from advancing with some ice damage. Some keepers can be found simply through enemy drops, but most of the time selling loot and scouring through shops, which refresh their wares frequently, is the best way to find awesome treasures.

Finally arriving from the tabletop to the console, Dungeon & Dragons: Daggerdale hopes to be the old dog that learns new tricks. It will arrive on XBLA, PSN, and PC on May 24, 2011.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dungeons & Dragons Daggerdale


More On GameRevolution