More Reviews
REVIEWS Funk of Titans Review
It’s always particularly tough to find the funk of a game when it already doesn’t have much rhythm.

Citizens of Earth Review
Do you like turn-based RPGs? Do you enjoy laughter? Does your hair contain enough product to qualify you to be VP of an entire planet? If so, then you'll enjoy playing Citizens of Earth.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Codename S.T.E.A.M. Preview
I went hands-on and nearly burned myself with “New” Nintendo 3DS hardware and the latest from Intelligent Systems. Aren’t you happy?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Saints Row: Gat out of Hell
Release date: Out Now

RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES 5 Best Zelda Games of All Time
Nintendo's epic adventure series has seen many entries over the years. Here are the very best of the bunch.

Blades of Steel, NHL 94, More 90's Hockey - Old Games With Grandpa Heath
If Captain Comic were picking players for a pickup hockey game, who would be his first choice? Probably Cliff Ronning.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Dying Light Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Have you ever wanted to parker through a zombie horde?

Behind closed doors, Warner Bros. Interactive was showing off their latest zombie apocalypse game, and (somehow) I got in to give it the good old-fashioned try. Also, they let me use a gun, baseball bat, machete, and a sledgehammer against a slew of decomposing bastards. I was a happy Kevin for a while.

Not a lot about the story in Dying Light was revealed to me, apart from the fact that the main protagonists are attempting to survive in an urban environment by collecting military drops, but the gameplay was more than enough for a first look. Set in a fictional city and country modeled after Istanbul, DL is all about securing parts and items for missions while parkouring through the landscape combination of makeshift buildings and modern-ish factories.



Of course, the weapons help you chop through the mass of baddies, but that's more secondary… the guns don't get much ammo, and your stamina can run out in the middle of a fight when you need it most. So, your best plan? Run. RUN LIKE THE GODDAMN WIND! And that's during the day.

At night, the whole situation becomes all the more brutal. During the day, the zombies are more docile, less likely to come after you simply because you're standing there. But at night, some of them transform in the moonlight and grow faster, stronger, and keener on munching your sweet, sweet gray matter. The main character has a pulse that can be sent out to interrupt a transformation into one of the more aggro zombies, but there is a cooldown period to follow, so it seems good enough to get your running start with but little more. That's when the game changes from a hunt-and-gather style of gameplay and into more of a survival-horror battleground.



Graphically it looks great, and when most everything can be climbed and explored, the whole thing looks to be shaping up quite nicely. This spiritual successor to Dead Island is scheduled for release sometime in 2014 for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dying Light preview posted on 09/23/13.
Dying Light preview posted on 06/17/14.
Dying Light preview posted on 12/12/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dying Light