More Reviews
REVIEWS God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.

Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Water, Water Everywhere: 15 of the Best Water Worlds in Gaming
Lots of water worlds suck, but not these ones, and they're completely Kevin Costner-free.

An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Dying Light Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Have you ever wanted to parker through a zombie horde?

Behind closed doors, Warner Bros. Interactive was showing off their latest zombie apocalypse game, and (somehow) I got in to give it the good old-fashioned try. Also, they let me use a gun, baseball bat, machete, and a sledgehammer against a slew of decomposing bastards. I was a happy Kevin for a while.

Not a lot about the story in Dying Light was revealed to me, apart from the fact that the main protagonists are attempting to survive in an urban environment by collecting military drops, but the gameplay was more than enough for a first look. Set in a fictional city and country modeled after Istanbul, DL is all about securing parts and items for missions while parkouring through the landscape combination of makeshift buildings and modern-ish factories.



Of course, the weapons help you chop through the mass of baddies, but that's more secondary… the guns don't get much ammo, and your stamina can run out in the middle of a fight when you need it most. So, your best plan? Run. RUN LIKE THE GODDAMN WIND! And that's during the day.

At night, the whole situation becomes all the more brutal. During the day, the zombies are more docile, less likely to come after you simply because you're standing there. But at night, some of them transform in the moonlight and grow faster, stronger, and keener on munching your sweet, sweet gray matter. The main character has a pulse that can be sent out to interrupt a transformation into one of the more aggro zombies, but there is a cooldown period to follow, so it seems good enough to get your running start with but little more. That's when the game changes from a hunt-and-gather style of gameplay and into more of a survival-horror battleground.



Graphically it looks great, and when most everything can be climbed and explored, the whole thing looks to be shaping up quite nicely. This spiritual successor to Dead Island is scheduled for release sometime in 2014 for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dying Light preview posted on 06/17/14.
Dying Light preview posted on 09/23/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dying Light


More On GameRevolution