More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Dying Light Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/14/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER Techland 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Have you ever wanted to parker through a zombie horde?

Behind closed doors, Warner Bros. Interactive was showing off their latest zombie apocalypse game, and (somehow) I got in to give it the good old-fashioned try. Also, they let me use a gun, baseball bat, machete, and a sledgehammer against a slew of decomposing bastards. I was a happy Kevin for a while.

Not a lot about the story in Dying Light was revealed to me, apart from the fact that the main protagonists are attempting to survive in an urban environment by collecting military drops, but the gameplay was more than enough for a first look. Set in a fictional city and country modeled after Istanbul, DL is all about securing parts and items for missions while parkouring through the landscape combination of makeshift buildings and modern-ish factories.



Of course, the weapons help you chop through the mass of baddies, but that's more secondary… the guns don't get much ammo, and your stamina can run out in the middle of a fight when you need it most. So, your best plan? Run. RUN LIKE THE GODDAMN WIND! And that's during the day.

At night, the whole situation becomes all the more brutal. During the day, the zombies are more docile, less likely to come after you simply because you're standing there. But at night, some of them transform in the moonlight and grow faster, stronger, and keener on munching your sweet, sweet gray matter. The main character has a pulse that can be sent out to interrupt a transformation into one of the more aggro zombies, but there is a cooldown period to follow, so it seems good enough to get your running start with but little more. That's when the game changes from a hunt-and-gather style of gameplay and into more of a survival-horror battleground.



Graphically it looks great, and when most everything can be climbed and explored, the whole thing looks to be shaping up quite nicely. This spiritual successor to Dead Island is scheduled for release sometime in 2014 for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Dying Light preview posted on 09/23/13.
Dying Light preview posted on 06/17/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dying Light