More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Resident Evil: Revelations Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
01/25/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Survival Horror 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

It's pretty horrible!


Resident Evil, to me, has always been an experience for a full screen, a dark room, and the sound turned waaaay up. And I know there have been portable REs in the past with varying results (I'm lookin' to you, Resident Evil Gaiden), but they haven't garnered much attention for quality… the previous 3DS entry gained more attention for the lack of ability to initialize data so people couldn't sell it back to places like GameStop. I don't know if the data system will have the same issue, but the game itself is shaping up well enough.



The demo I was able to get my hands on featured Jill Valentine maneuvering through the residential quarters of some kind of ship, and while it was short it felt complete. The over-the-shoulder view blocks a bit too much of the left side of the screen leading to some frustration in fight-or-flight situations, and it was a little slow to get the crosshairs in just the right position (wasting a lot of ammo in the process if you're not precise), but that's Resident Evil. And with a quick options check, that shouldn't be too big an issue come release.

Revelations might well be the prettiest portable game I've ever seen and is complimented well by the 3D effect instead of being a pain to the eye-socket. Jill looked great (still haven't gotten the number of her trainer) and the world surrounding her was finely detailed. Only a handful of rooms were actually available for exploration (and extremely close quarters on top of that), but everything from the bed, to the bookshelves, to the control panels were beautifully rendered. Put it all in 3D and the world simply pops.



There wasn't much fighting in the demo, with only two guns shown and no melee attacking at all (that may be reserved for Chris Redfield), but engaging with the melting baddies was easy enough. Guns can be aimed or fired from the hip, but get used to the first-person view when fighting or else ammunition can be depleted super-quick… though most of the baddies take bullets with a groan and little more. We'll see just how much they can take in the final incarnation.

With a world that feels finely detailed and realistic (except for the crazy monsters, of course), RE: Revelations is shaping up to be a fun romp wherever you want to take it. It'll be out early next month, so grab the ammo while you can!
More GR previews for this game:
Resident Evil: Revelations preview posted on 10/31/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Revelations


More On GameRevolution