More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Resident Evil: Revelations Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
01/25/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Survival Horror 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

It's pretty horrible!


Resident Evil, to me, has always been an experience for a full screen, a dark room, and the sound turned waaaay up. And I know there have been portable REs in the past with varying results (I'm lookin' to you, Resident Evil Gaiden), but they haven't garnered much attention for quality… the previous 3DS entry gained more attention for the lack of ability to initialize data so people couldn't sell it back to places like GameStop. I don't know if the data system will have the same issue, but the game itself is shaping up well enough.



The demo I was able to get my hands on featured Jill Valentine maneuvering through the residential quarters of some kind of ship, and while it was short it felt complete. The over-the-shoulder view blocks a bit too much of the left side of the screen leading to some frustration in fight-or-flight situations, and it was a little slow to get the crosshairs in just the right position (wasting a lot of ammo in the process if you're not precise), but that's Resident Evil. And with a quick options check, that shouldn't be too big an issue come release.

Revelations might well be the prettiest portable game I've ever seen and is complimented well by the 3D effect instead of being a pain to the eye-socket. Jill looked great (still haven't gotten the number of her trainer) and the world surrounding her was finely detailed. Only a handful of rooms were actually available for exploration (and extremely close quarters on top of that), but everything from the bed, to the bookshelves, to the control panels were beautifully rendered. Put it all in 3D and the world simply pops.



There wasn't much fighting in the demo, with only two guns shown and no melee attacking at all (that may be reserved for Chris Redfield), but engaging with the melting baddies was easy enough. Guns can be aimed or fired from the hip, but get used to the first-person view when fighting or else ammunition can be depleted super-quick… though most of the baddies take bullets with a groan and little more. We'll see just how much they can take in the final incarnation.

With a world that feels finely detailed and realistic (except for the crazy monsters, of course), RE: Revelations is shaping up to be a fun romp wherever you want to take it. It'll be out early next month, so grab the ammo while you can!
More GR previews for this game:
Resident Evil: Revelations preview posted on 10/31/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Resident Evil: Revelations


More On GameRevolution