More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Faery: Legends of Avalon Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
10/27/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Focus Home Interactive 
DEVELOPER Spiders 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Float like a fairy, sting like a troll.


FOX’s Celebrity Boxing was an interesting foray into the strange psyche of the American consumer. A mind-numbingly stupid show, yes, but interesting nonetheless in that it delivered match-ups that no sane person would ever realize they wanted to see until it aired. No one went around saying “Damn, I wonder who would win in a fight between Tonya Harding and Paula Jones!” But once it made it onto TV we ate it up anyway.

click to enlargeFaery: Legends of Avalon is lined up to do something similar with video games. Fairies fighting ghost pirates? Genies squaring off against cave trolls? This upcoming RPG throws all kinds of mythical creatures into the mix as you go on a quest to learn why the magical kingdom of Avalon is slowly dying, and ultimately decide if fey creatures of all origins should coexist with mankind.

You’ll control a young fairy (archaic spelling be damned, I’m a modern man!) whose appearance you design much as you would an avatar for an MMO. The character’s look will further evolve as you level up and funnel points into special talents. You could grow out horns, sport a face tattoo, spruce up your wings – each upgrade will affect your appearance as well as grant new abilities. And since there are a limited number of attribute points to use, every player’s fairy will come out looking and playing different in the end.

Faery’s concept is the most striking thing about it – applying the Kingdom Hearts multiverse treatment to various mythologies. In retrospect, I’m surprised no one thought of doing it before. There are four worlds, each with a wildly different origin. The adventure kicks off in Avalon (of Arthurian legend for the uninitiated) and soon takes you on a mythological tour to the Norse “World Tree” Yggdrasil, the Flying Dutchman ghost ship, and the desert in 1,001 Nights. Like Kingdom Hearts, characters from the different worlds join you as party members as you go along.

click to enlargeThe downloadable title also takes a page from another highly successful franchise: Mass Effect. Legends of Avalon is the first episode in a planned series that will open up even more worlds as episodes are released. Later episodes will be able to draw on your save file to link the adventures together as one continuous story, and choices you make in the first game will have a significant impact on what happens in episodes down the line. Make sure to think of the consequences before you spurn the affections of that horny fairy girl (or boy)!

If you’re looking for a different kind of RPG, one similar to Kingdom Hearts but without all the Disney-fication, look no further than Faery. The adventure will be flitting your way in November and you can catch it on Xbox Live, PSN, and PC.
More GR previews for this game:
Faery: Legends of Avalon preview posted on 10/27/10.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Faery: Legends of Avalon


More On GameRevolution