More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: Out Now

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Top 6 Greatest Video Game Gals
While men typically steal the spotlight as the hero is most video games, there are some noteworthy exceptions.

Buy, Try, or Die February 2015: Game of Thrones, Evolve, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask 3D
We've gotten hands-on time with some of 2015's Valentines and episodes, but we need to make judgments!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/15/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Disney Interactive 
DEVELOPER Harmonix/Disney 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

An all-new kind of Disney game, unlike DDR Disney Mix.

After about three years in development, Harmonix and Disney finally had a product they could show at this year's E3. Fantasia: Music Evolved for Xbox 360 and Xbox One (the only Kinect 2.0-capable game shown on the E3 floor) puts players in the role of Yen Sid's newest apprentice, and in order to create new music from the tracks contained, you'll need to wave your hands like Mickey does during his wizard training to manipulate the environment… and the music itself.

The music selection is varied in the roughly 25 starting tracks (with more coming through DLC), hidden through open portals in each stage, covering everything from classical music to Bruno Mars and "Fun" (the number one misnamed band on the planet, by the way). Each song contains extra riffs and samples that can be played over to make the song unique to your playthrough.



When playing through a song, it's timing-based, but instead of expected dance moves like Dance Central or Just Dance, the camera records both your swipes at the screen in various ways and thrusting your hands toward the screen. Become the sorcerer. Be the music. All that jazz.

There are two different main areas of the game that were shown: "The Shoal" and "The Press." In the Shoal, after the song is over, players can take some parts of the song they just played into the open space they found the song in. Not only that, they manipulate the environment to play them in the background, adding to them through finding new instruments littered around the landscape. The sample that was given was a coral reef that was filled with clams, mussels, and fish, many of which contained a tone unique to them that could be brought about by running a hand over them.



"The Press," on the other hand, is more of a puzzle-based affair. The only example I was given was needing to spin a wheel so that the right color was lit up, and things went sparkly for a second, and -- Ka-ching! -- it was fixed, and music came softly from it.  Over time, like the Shoal, the world of the Press (a printing press because, like the Harmonix demonstrator said, "newspapers are still around") turns into another world of drum lines and dancing notes. There wasn't anything beyond a few riffs in the demo that implied at all that the game has the Disney logo, which is strange, but there will hopefully be some classic animated film music in there somewhere.

The game is scheduled to come out some time in 2014, but a reminder: It's already been in development stages over three years already. Hopefully, it will come out sooner rather than later… it can be a great experience for the public, so the sooner, the better! Fantasia: Music Evolved will launch for Xbox 360 and Xbox One,
More GR previews for this game:
Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved preview posted on 06/15/13.
Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved preview posted on 03/31/14.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved