More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Fenix Rage Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/22/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Reverb TripleXP 
DEVELOPER Green Lava Studios 
RELEASE DATE  

Oh, oh, I almost got this! One last jump, and ffffuuuuuuuuuuu....
 
Fenix Rage is all about death. Not in a cruel and bitter way like Dark Souls, but in an infuriating and harefooted way that will remind you of uncompromising old-school platformers. It will make you gnash your teeth, scream into nearby pillows, and do irreversible damage to your controllers. The three indie developers of Green Lava Studios in Costa Rica may have just wanted to create a challenging platformer with a cool character who collects cookies, but they have absolutely no idea what they've done.
 
Not unlike Super Meat Boy and N++, Fenix Rage exemplifies the frantic trial-and-error gameplay of speedruns. As a mighty, bite-sized powerhouse, Fenix can jump multiple times in the air and dash as many times as he wants through breakable walls. But a single point of contact with a green glob will end his run, forcing a quick respawn at the beginning of the stage. One mistake and it's all over for this rocky ball of fury.


The main goal in Fenix Rage is to get through a level by reaching the blue portal at the end, with the main side objective being to collect the cookie before doing so. Levels, suspended in air and adorned by the vibrant sunset in the background, tend to be deviously designed with bouncing green globs all over the place, hopping and bopping back and forth in noticeable patterns. Sometimes Fenix will need to ride on an igneous wall to become a fiery ball of energy required to break through ice blocks. Eventually, the only way to get past them is to absorb the patterns into your mind and become one with the matrix.
 
Several floating birds will help guide you through what the programmers believe is the best path, but you never know if a player might find an alternate but likely riskier line. The pursuit for the quickest time on each stage will be pinned on leaderboards, and there will even be secret end portals that can be found but only if they're reached within an extremely short amount of time. I'm sure YouTube will become a platform for the competition for the shortest, most amazing runs through each of the game's levels, and there will be plenty of videos too due to the sheer number of levels.


 
Each of the four worlds are comprised of twenty or so stages, at the end of which is a boss level that's sometimes simpler than the tricky levels before it. Once they're completed, they can be flipped over on the menu screen to reveal dark-world variants that have even more damning challenges and ghosts in the shape of a crocodile's head who will hunt Fenix down like a homing missile. Manage to conquer even those, and you'll reach Sanctuary with the toughest set of stages this side of "Special World" from Super Mario World. (Probably even tougher.)
 
But along the way, don't forget about those cookies. One of the developer's family members is a baker and collecting the cookies in each stage will unlock her secret recipes. And the publisher, Reverb Communications, swears that they've tried the "Legendary Cookie" recipe and the cookies are nigh-transcendent.
 
Fenix Rage plans to release on September 24 for Steam and Xbox One and in Early 2015 for PlayStation 4.
More GR previews for this game:
Fenix Rage preview posted on 06/11/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fenix Rage


More On GameRevolution