More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Ferrari Vibration GT Cockpit 458 Italia Edition Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
08/15/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing Wheel 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Thrustmaster 
DEVELOPER Thrustmaster 
RELEASE DATE  

Everything we do is (still) driven by Ferrari.


The engine-steamy love affair between high-profile peripheral designers Thrustmaster (obvious sex jokes aside) and high-class luxury brand Ferrari has never been secretive. I mean, I'm surprised that the two companies haven't tied the knot already, especially with all the products they give birth to year by year like clockwork. Sweet, beautiful clockwork. But Thrustmaster's new peripheral isn't just any old controller, but the first stand-up racing controller compatible for the Xbox 360 (and PC) known as none other but the Ferrari Vibration GT Cockpit 458 Italia Edition.

All right, that was a mouthful, but again, this is no ordinary product. Modeled after the Ferrari 458 Italia, the cockpit features a built-in wheel, a pedal set, and a metal chassis that's adjustable for height and angle and collapsible enough to fit beneath a couch or be tucked away in a closet. Priced between a casual racing wheel and an ultimate racing simulator (on which Indy car driver Oriol Servia provided a beatdown demonstration at the Thrustmaster event I attended), this peripheral costs $299.99, a premium price point but not so high that hardcore racing gamers can't afford it.


Testing out the cockpit on Forza Motorsport 4 and F1 2011, I didn't anticipate just how much it would improve the experience. Of course, toggling on all of the driving assists still made turning extremely easy, but once I tried my hand (unbeknownst to me at the time) at a simulation experience, I was slipping and sliding around the track like a fool. Luckily, I learned from my mistakes quickly and made sure that my gas pedaling was more gradual aroud the corner. After one terrible race, I crossed the line in first place with my rivals more than twenty seconds behind. Ha, suckers.

It also doesn't hurt that the Ferrari 458 Italia Cockpit, true to its name, has a realistic feel. The wheel at 11.2 inches and with a textured rubber grip is a 7/10-scale replica of the real thing. Embedded along the lower-right corner of the wheel is the distinguished Manettino dial, which in this case doesn't control suspension, electronic differentials, and other doodads that racing nuts fawn over, but it does control the viewing perspective.


Two gear shifts are safely behind the racing wheel so that they're within hand's reach, and the entire peripheral has full force feedback throughout the body to simulate the natural vibration through a vehicle. The base weighs 22 pounds, enough that you won't need to mount anything to a desk. Last but not the least, it has a slot for a headset for easy multiplayer gaming.

The Ferrari Vibration GT Cockpit 458 Italia Edition will be available in September is already ready for pre-order off buythrustmaster.com.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Ferrari Vibration GT Cockpit 458 Italia Edition