More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

FIFA 13 Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
08/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Canada 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

It’s all a tricky dribble.


How exciting is it that the 2012 Olympic Games are going on?! I don’t know about you, but I can’t seem to get enough. There are plenty of returning gold medalists and tons of new competitors. How about that Michael Phelps guy? He has proven you can smoke pot and still be a top athlete. Come on, politicians, legalize the stuff already.

Anyway, getting off-topic… As I was saying, one of my favorite sports being played, and probably one of the more popular one’s going on right nowsoccer. And what better way to keep people interested in the sport? Get everyone pumped up about FIFA 13!



Last month at E3 I had an opportunity to see an in-depth, hands-off demo of the up-and-coming title. So far, the structure of in-game play is what has been majorly updated. Intelligence seems to be the key ingredient to a better FIFA. Now offensive, as well as defensive, players will jockey for the best position in controlling the ball. At the moment this feature shows improvement in tackling and player interactions. No longer will players aimlessly run from spot to spot in an uncoordinated pattern before magically taking possession of the ball. Computer players will also make more realistic breaks to and from the ball and show better feel of the plays developing.

Another addition fans may like is that FIFA 13 has taken a page or two from its concrete counterpart, FIFA Street, and implemented many of its dribbling control schemes. This doesn’t mean throwing the control stick in any direction you want, expecting the spectacular tricks you’ve seen in Street. It is simply to add a more dynamic flow to creating space and enabling players a better chance of finishing at the net.



EA Sports has wanted to keep FIFA 13 under lock and key and has given out as few details as possible while still hoping to keep people excited. It’s certainly “a work in progress”. The debug version I got my hands on didn’t have any online modes to try out (which is roughly 80% of the content), so I had to focus on exhibition and a newer feature of skills games, the latter of which has finally been installed to a franchise that continues its pursuit in reeling in U.S. fans. Much like other EA Sports games such as Madden and NHL, FIFA’s skills challenge brings a mode that’s geared to teach vital abilities to newcomers and veteran players alike.

There are lots of new and old modes to spend hours playing. Players should look forward to modes like Football Club, Career mode, Be A Pro, Ultimate Team, and plenty other stables to the franchise. I’m sure when the complete game is released, the proof will be in the pudding, and fans will be lining up around the corner to grab a copy come September 25th.
More GR previews for this game:
FIFA 13 preview posted on 06/10/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about FIFA 13


More On GameRevolution