More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

FIFA 13 Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
06/10/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Canada 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

My other shoes are indoors.


After getting an exclusive look at FIFA 13, it is safe to say soccer or futbol (properly put) is here to stay in video games. FIFA can and will definitely duke it out with the heavyweights in the sports genre. For the last few years, EA has been spending a lot of time, energy, and money in making an authentic soccer game people from all over the world can enjoy. United States will finally learn why this is the most popular sport on earth.

Fans and critics have spoken, and it appears the FIFA crew has been listening to all of our prayers. AI is now actually intelligent. No longer will you single-handedly attack on your own, while your computer-controlled teammates run in absolutely ridiculous directions, as you attempt to pass them the ball in space. The new intelligence system allows AI to react to plays realistically and effectively. Fellow attackers now will strategically cut to the goal just like your favorite players do. Spacing is key and once executed correctly, the tempo of the game loosens and flows much better.



I had the chance to watch the E3 demo, which focuses on a few new features. The intelligence update was the bulk of it, but alongside that was impact engine, dribble control, and player ratings actually effecting the team's play on the pitch. Impact hasn't changed all that much except for defensive and offensive jockeying for ball control. A defender will now use his body more to stop an attacker in their tracks. Like in basketball, a defender will put his back to an opponent and box out anyone dribbling the ball or trying to get to it. This makes tackling a lot more effective.

Dribble control system has taken a page from FIFA Street and implemented it to precision dribbling. The ability to break down a defender is still possible but now you can use just right stick in order to precise dribble. These aren't FIFA Street tricks, though, so don't go flicking the analog in all crazy directions thinking you're going to break someone's ankles. What can happen is, if you time your moves right and be patient, you will be able to get past defenders and open up for your offense. Having great offensive and defense is so instrumental in having a top team.



What dictates a team's rank the most? Player ratings. Previous FIFA editions have always had player ratings, but this year the ratings seem to hold substantial differences. Before, almost all players, no matter rating, could perform all moves available. Now lower-rated players won't be able to do things like catch long lobs from over their shoulder as if they were Didier Drogba. Each player will fully have to follow their strengths and weaknesses.

Though most of the coverage I was able to get on FIFA 13 was through video demos, I was able to get my hands on a little exhibition play. At this time, one of the creators handed me my ass in a 4-0 stomping that only stopped due to him needing to make another presentation. So far gameplay is smooth and continues to improve steadily. FIFA owns most licensing rights, so it is only fit that this title should be on the wish list for when it is released towards the end of the year.
More GR previews for this game:
FIFA 13 preview posted on 08/01/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about FIFA 13


More On GameRevolution