More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

FIFA 13 Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
08/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA Sports 
DEVELOPER EA Canada 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

It’s all a tricky dribble.


How exciting is it that the 2012 Olympic Games are going on?! I don’t know about you, but I can’t seem to get enough. There are plenty of returning gold medalists and tons of new competitors. How about that Michael Phelps guy? He has proven you can smoke pot and still be a top athlete. Come on, politicians, legalize the stuff already.

Anyway, getting off-topic… As I was saying, one of my favorite sports being played, and probably one of the more popular one’s going on right nowsoccer. And what better way to keep people interested in the sport? Get everyone pumped up about FIFA 13!



Last month at E3 I had an opportunity to see an in-depth, hands-off demo of the up-and-coming title. So far, the structure of in-game play is what has been majorly updated. Intelligence seems to be the key ingredient to a better FIFA. Now offensive, as well as defensive, players will jockey for the best position in controlling the ball. At the moment this feature shows improvement in tackling and player interactions. No longer will players aimlessly run from spot to spot in an uncoordinated pattern before magically taking possession of the ball. Computer players will also make more realistic breaks to and from the ball and show better feel of the plays developing.

Another addition fans may like is that FIFA 13 has taken a page or two from its concrete counterpart, FIFA Street, and implemented many of its dribbling control schemes. This doesn’t mean throwing the control stick in any direction you want, expecting the spectacular tricks you’ve seen in Street. It is simply to add a more dynamic flow to creating space and enabling players a better chance of finishing at the net.



EA Sports has wanted to keep FIFA 13 under lock and key and has given out as few details as possible while still hoping to keep people excited. It’s certainly “a work in progress”. The debug version I got my hands on didn’t have any online modes to try out (which is roughly 80% of the content), so I had to focus on exhibition and a newer feature of skills games, the latter of which has finally been installed to a franchise that continues its pursuit in reeling in U.S. fans. Much like other EA Sports games such as Madden and NHL, FIFA’s skills challenge brings a mode that’s geared to teach vital abilities to newcomers and veteran players alike.

There are lots of new and old modes to spend hours playing. Players should look forward to modes like Football Club, Career mode, Be A Pro, Ultimate Team, and plenty other stables to the franchise. I’m sure when the complete game is released, the proof will be in the pudding, and fans will be lining up around the corner to grab a copy come September 25th.
More GR previews for this game:
FIFA 13 preview posted on 06/10/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about FIFA 13


More On GameRevolution