More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

FIFA 14 Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
04/17/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 22 
PUBLISHER EA Canada 
DEVELOPER EA Sports 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

Kicking it off with physics!

Now that EA has begun their kickoff to their 2013 sports season, with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 14 already released, it is time to get the party started. With every turn of a calendar year, gaming studios begin ushering in renewals of some of our favorite titles, from RPG genres such as Final Fantasy, on down to renditions of classics like Sonic the Hedgehog. But of course we’re here talking about EA Sports. And what are they best known for? You guessed it. First-person shoot... I mean sports... I knew that.



And first up to batwell, footis none other than football! Though, not the football you may be thinking of, but "international football" or what we United Statians like to call "soccer." This year FIFA 14 is hoping to bring a fresh feel to a game the world loves. Last year, many complained FIFA 13 was too fast. So for 14, those complaints were heard and applied to better the experience.

Slowing down a game that is played with speed may sound contradicting, but in fact, this will allow players to have a smoother transition from offense to defense and vice versa. Specifically, ball control seems to have benefited from the change in the hands-off presentation shown to us in a recent event at EA Redwood Shores. A slight tweak has been thrown in to compliment the movement: the addition of shielding. Holding L2 (PS3) or left trigger (Xbox 360) allows a player to box out an opponent attempting to gain control of the ball. Positioning is key to the success of soccer, so it’s no surprise dynamic awareness has been upgraded.



Following the theme of awareness, defensive recognition has been amped up. In the past, we would see a lot of defenders fade away from the man they were following, in order to chase down another attacker completely away from the play. This can be especially frustrating when it’s your own teammate aimlessly wandering off. Seemingly, this has been corrected with new multi-frame capabilities and makes way for a much better player-tracking system. A.I. defenders will be able to understand importance of one-on-one match ups and stick with their opponents in a more proper and effective way.

FIFA 14 is still in early stages and there are plenty of areas to improve upon, but so far the new enhancements are well-documented and will please fans. Little tidbits that have been underrated such as skills games are back with a vengeance. Plenty of fun is to be had when this year’s installment is dropped, some time after summer.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about FIFA 14


More On GameRevolution