More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES An Updating List of PlayStation 4 Updates We Want
Sony and Microsoft have been updating their consoles regularly, but we wanted to share our own ideas for updating the PS4 firmware.

An Updating List of Xbox One Updates We Want
Microsoft has launched Xbox One and done its best to follow Sony's lead and its even secured some exclusive software, but we want more.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
04/29/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 999 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Square Enix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A day in the life of Aupebe.


Before I even start outlining my good times in the Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn beta, let me make a few things clear:
  • I'm a crusty old MMO player who liked MMOs more when they were harsher and meaner.
  • Because of... reasons... I only got to play for about 12 hours before beta phase 2 came to a close.
  • I'm a complete sucker for moogles (but who isn't, right?).
So considering item two, I can't really say what the end game is like or how early decisions you make regarding character development might affect you in the long run. (That will be perhaps for the next preview for beta phase 3!) What I can talk about is something I think is a lot more important, and that's whether those crucial early years of your character's life feel rewarding and absorbing enough to make you want to invest time (and money) into them. Alas, I only knew my character, Aupebe, for a day, but since we've parted, I've been itching to have more adventures with him, and that's something I never felt for any of my characters in World of Warcraft.



As I said in my recent review of Defiance, there's nothing more important about an MMO to me than whether its core gameplay is enjoyable. ARR really nails this for me because it feels like I imagine a modern, single-player Final Fantasy might feel if FFVII hadn't changed absolutely everything. There's an earthy, provincial, vaguely European look to it that feels more true to the franchise than Squeenix's more recent offerings. It's conveyed in the dialogue too. The writing is nothing heady or groundbreaking, but it bears a simple, quirky charm that, as an old-school JRPG player, I found familiar and endearing.

This matters more than you think too. I'm not going to try to convince you that story matters in an MMO, but contextualizing all the “go here, collect/kill X” that inevitably comes with the territory goes a long way towards staving off a feeling of empty repetition. Of course, so does giving players something to do besides all those fetch quests. ARR does this well too, with randomly appearing public quests that provide entirely different challenges than the preset ones, but also through another feature called the hunting log, which assigns you a number of different mobs to kill based on your class. Each class gets different hunting challenges to fulfill and enemies on your list are clearly marked above their head so you know at a glance that it's one of your targets.

None of these elements are particularly game-changing on their own, but the cumulative effect is that you feel quests are guiding your experience without restricting it. In this way, ARR isn't so different from Guild Wars 2, but unlike that game, ARR sticks to some genre conventions that GW2 went away fromlike an actual class system. It's this mix of modern and classic design choices that I think FFXI fans will find appealing.



Ultimately, those are the people Square Enix really needs to win over. Even all these years later, FFXI is still going strong, and if they can just make a game that will satisfy that fan base while incorporating all the newer features that have become ubiquitous with the genre, that may be enough for them to succeed. Despite all the modern amenities. like group finder and fast travel, ARR feels like a game for old-school RPG players. Its world is more classically wrought than WoW's Azeroth, and its systems are more structured than those of games like Guild Wars 2 or The Secret World.

I like defined class roles, I like coming back to old areas and seeing how far beneath me the creatures there are now, and I like wandering into an area I shouldn't be in and feeling afraid for my virtual life. More than anything, I like doing all of that in a place that doesn't look like a Disneyland version of Middle-Earth. My one day in Eorzea gave me all of that in a way no MMO has since FFXI. I don't know what Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will look like in four years, or if I'll have a level 99 character or not. What I do know is that if I had to pay $12.99 for four more weeks with Aupebe, I would. And that's as good a start as you can hope for.   
More GR previews for this game:
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn preview posted on 02/11/14.
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn preview posted on 02/22/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn


More On GameRevolution