More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Gaming For Good: Charity for the Win
Playing video games for charity is becoming easier everyday. Livestream, join a fundraising guild, or game at your own pace. There are many different ways gamers can contribute to numerous charitable causes.

PlayStation’s Colorful Console Past and Its Bright, White Future
Sony will release the white PlayStation 4 in September, so let's take a walk through the company's hardware history.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 999 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Square Enix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Language, Mild Blood, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Welcome to Eorzea.

With millions of PlayStation 4 consoles in homes around the world, it’ll be a massively multiplayer online game which gives us the first look at a next-gen Final Fantasy. Square Enix invited us to check out the upcoming port of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn which brings the relaunched MMO to PS4 for both existing subscribers on PS3 and new players ready to adventure in the massive and varied land of Eorzea.

We’ve written quite a bit about FFXIV’s rocky start, its eventual reboot, and finally its release. You can read our full review of the game on PC and PS3 here. The game has even been reported as a surprising success despite the arduous process of releasing the product twice. Still, PlayStation 4 owners or fans of the MMO who’ve been holding out on launching their adventuring career until they could do it with DualShock 4 in hand have a lot to look forward to.

Notably, the PlayStation 4 release of FFXIV comes with quite a few control options, more than you could possibly hope for. You can play with the DualShock 4 controller, the PlayStation Vita via remote play, or with a mouse and keyboard of your choosing. All told, each presents some unique options for casting, buffing, hacking, slashing, zipping, and spiking your hair.

Perhaps surprisingy, I liked remote play with PlayStation Vita best. The game performed well on Vita and the controls mapped perfectly, allowing me to take a few monsters to task with a high-level archer. The controls feel much like they did when A Realm Reborn landed on PlayStation 3, but to refresh you, generally you use the shoulder buttons in conjunction with the face buttons. Pulling L1 would give you access to spells and attacks assigned to your D-pad and Square, Triangle, Circle, and X. The same is true of R1.

Control options are a top priority for the PS4 release as user interface changes have been made across Vita buttons, DualShock 4 controls, and any number of keyboard and mice combinations you might plug in via USB connection. I liked using the Vita via remote play because I can imagine a lot of gamers lounging around the house with the handheld. Further, it seems like a lot of people own both a Vita and a PS4. So I urge you to get as much use out of remote play as you can, so they improve the feature even further.

Still, the DualShock 4 controller offered some interesting options. Gameplay operates in the same way as it does on Vita or PS3, but you can use the controller’s central touchpad to move the mouse cursor as you would if you had a mouse connected to your PS4. This allowed me to select the chat box, the map, and interact with other menu-items and more while still running around the world with the left analog stick. It’ll make those across-map hikes a lot more bearable.

I didn’t get a chance to go hands-on with the keyboard and mouse options for PlayStation 4, but Producer Naoki Yoshida said that he prefers his PC gaming peripherals to the controller. He expressed his hardcore gaming tendencies in presenting the PS4 version to us and we also had an opportunity to interview the man behind Square Enix’s newly reborn MMO. Look for those details in future posts.

More GR previews for this game:
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn preview posted on 04/29/13.
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn preview posted on 02/22/13.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn


More On GameRevolution