More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Fortnite Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Epic Games 
DEVELOPER Epic Games 
RELEASE DATE 12/31/2069
RP What do these ratings mean?

An epic risk for Epic Games.


I'm surprised I can even write a legitimate preview of Fortnite given that Epic Gamesthat is, Design Director Cliff Bleszinski, Producer Tanya Jessen, and Art Lead Pete Ellisbarely showed gameplay footage at all. At best, the videos they revealed were in alpha, but Fortnite has such an interesting concept and such a surprising art style that it nearly contradicts the typical grittiness from Epic Games. This alone makes a mere shred of information about the game noteworthy.



In a nutshell, Fortnite challenges a team of players to scavenge for materials and build defenses during the day in order to survive an onslaught of undead enemies who rise by night. Within the available hours of the day, a player will usually roam the world, chop down trees and fences for wood, return to base with materials in hand, and begin crafting a castle of epic proportions. At night, the player will hopefully defeat the waves of husks and other undead by working with their structure's architecture and pumping a shotgun every now and then.

As players progresses from day to day, their overall skills will improve depending on what they favor, be that combat, recon, scavenging, or building. Eventually, they'll have access to crossbows that can fire three bolts at once that also inflict chain lightning damage for one nasty trap, as well as architectural structures made of brick and mortar that have multiple chokepoints and perhaps even a sniper's nest for good measure. Part of the joy is transforming what once was a dinky house made from twigs into a majestic, labyrinthine ten-story fort that would give Minecraft veterans a run for their money.



Of course, it would be remiss not to mention the game's pristine cel-shaded artwork that resemble a hybrid between the cartoony exaggerations of Team Fortress with the clean lines of Pixar. In front of the musky grays and browns of the pending apocalypse are vibrant greens and warm tones, all running on the already unbelievable tech of Unreal Engine 4. The art style was initially conceptualized in the Epic Games tradition of rugged, hard-bitten models and environments, but was scrapped for a more humorous direction. I believe it has certainly made the right decision.

Fortnite is still early in production and doesn't have a release date, but it will be coming to PC first and foremost. Talks of a possible console version have been ongoing, though nothing has been decided yet. I, for one, think it should.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fortnite


More On GameRevolution