More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Fortnite Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Epic Games 
DEVELOPER Epic Games 
RELEASE DATE 12/31/2069
RP What do these ratings mean?

An epic risk for Epic Games.


I'm surprised I can even write a legitimate preview of Fortnite given that Epic Gamesthat is, Design Director Cliff Bleszinski, Producer Tanya Jessen, and Art Lead Pete Ellisbarely showed gameplay footage at all. At best, the videos they revealed were in alpha, but Fortnite has such an interesting concept and such a surprising art style that it nearly contradicts the typical grittiness from Epic Games. This alone makes a mere shred of information about the game noteworthy.



In a nutshell, Fortnite challenges a team of players to scavenge for materials and build defenses during the day in order to survive an onslaught of undead enemies who rise by night. Within the available hours of the day, a player will usually roam the world, chop down trees and fences for wood, return to base with materials in hand, and begin crafting a castle of epic proportions. At night, the player will hopefully defeat the waves of husks and other undead by working with their structure's architecture and pumping a shotgun every now and then.

As players progresses from day to day, their overall skills will improve depending on what they favor, be that combat, recon, scavenging, or building. Eventually, they'll have access to crossbows that can fire three bolts at once that also inflict chain lightning damage for one nasty trap, as well as architectural structures made of brick and mortar that have multiple chokepoints and perhaps even a sniper's nest for good measure. Part of the joy is transforming what once was a dinky house made from twigs into a majestic, labyrinthine ten-story fort that would give Minecraft veterans a run for their money.



Of course, it would be remiss not to mention the game's pristine cel-shaded artwork that resemble a hybrid between the cartoony exaggerations of Team Fortress with the clean lines of Pixar. In front of the musky grays and browns of the pending apocalypse are vibrant greens and warm tones, all running on the already unbelievable tech of Unreal Engine 4. The art style was initially conceptualized in the Epic Games tradition of rugged, hard-bitten models and environments, but was scrapped for a more humorous direction. I believe it has certainly made the right decision.

Fortnite is still early in production and doesn't have a release date, but it will be coming to PC first and foremost. Talks of a possible console version have been ongoing, though nothing has been decided yet. I, for one, think it should.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fortnite