More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Fortnite Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Epic Games 
DEVELOPER Epic Games 
RELEASE DATE 12/31/2069
RP What do these ratings mean?

An epic risk for Epic Games.


I'm surprised I can even write a legitimate preview of Fortnite given that Epic Gamesthat is, Design Director Cliff Bleszinski, Producer Tanya Jessen, and Art Lead Pete Ellisbarely showed gameplay footage at all. At best, the videos they revealed were in alpha, but Fortnite has such an interesting concept and such a surprising art style that it nearly contradicts the typical grittiness from Epic Games. This alone makes a mere shred of information about the game noteworthy.



In a nutshell, Fortnite challenges a team of players to scavenge for materials and build defenses during the day in order to survive an onslaught of undead enemies who rise by night. Within the available hours of the day, a player will usually roam the world, chop down trees and fences for wood, return to base with materials in hand, and begin crafting a castle of epic proportions. At night, the player will hopefully defeat the waves of husks and other undead by working with their structure's architecture and pumping a shotgun every now and then.

As players progresses from day to day, their overall skills will improve depending on what they favor, be that combat, recon, scavenging, or building. Eventually, they'll have access to crossbows that can fire three bolts at once that also inflict chain lightning damage for one nasty trap, as well as architectural structures made of brick and mortar that have multiple chokepoints and perhaps even a sniper's nest for good measure. Part of the joy is transforming what once was a dinky house made from twigs into a majestic, labyrinthine ten-story fort that would give Minecraft veterans a run for their money.



Of course, it would be remiss not to mention the game's pristine cel-shaded artwork that resemble a hybrid between the cartoony exaggerations of Team Fortress with the clean lines of Pixar. In front of the musky grays and browns of the pending apocalypse are vibrant greens and warm tones, all running on the already unbelievable tech of Unreal Engine 4. The art style was initially conceptualized in the Epic Games tradition of rugged, hard-bitten models and environments, but was scrapped for a more humorous direction. I believe it has certainly made the right decision.

Fortnite is still early in production and doesn't have a release date, but it will be coming to PC first and foremost. Talks of a possible console version have been ongoing, though nothing has been decided yet. I, for one, think it should.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fortnite