More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hand of Fate Preview
Dungeons & Dragons mixed with the Batman: Arkham series... wait, what?!
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

Hohokum
Release date: 08/12/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Gaming For Good: Charity for the Win
Playing video games for charity is becoming easier everyday. Livestream, join a fundraising guild, or game at your own pace. There are many different ways gamers can contribute to numerous charitable causes.

PlayStation’s Colorful Console Past and Its Bright, White Future
Sony will release the white PlayStation 4 in September, so let's take a walk through the company's hardware history.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Forza Horizon 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/14/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Playground Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A tour de Forza.
 
With Forza Motorsport 5 running along swimmingly, Turn 10 Studios has switched its attention to its other series, Forza Horizon, which debuted just under two years ago in October 2012. Back then, I reviewed the title with high marks, celebrating the freedom of its open world but wanting more of the technical racing that the main series is known for. Luckily, Forza Horizon 2 looks to offer much more challenge, just by the hands-on demo available at Microsoft's booth at the recent E3 2014.


 
Choosing from three vehicles—​the Chevrolet Corvette Stingray, a Lamborghini Huracán LP 610-4, and Nissan GT-R Black Edition—I experienced a twelve-man race along a coastal road populated by various Drivatars, A.I. racers who supposedly drive like the Gamertag-users that they're meant to represent. I started off behind the pack since the player before me decided to leave mere seconds before the start of the race, but I was able to pick up the pace easily. And I played the demo over again, just to make sure I jotted down those car names down properly.
 
Interestingly, the racing line didn't strictly follow the roads but through the fields and over the hills, though it's not too strange since it's supposed to provide the shortest route anyway. Between the jostling and the trading paint, I earned various points for almost everything, including drafting bonuses, clean racing, clean passing, awesome wreckages, and skill chaining. Tightly cornering through checkpoints, I was able to pass enough competitors to claim fourth place.


 
As usual, checking the mini-map in the lower left-hand corner every once in a while is smart as a way to prepare for future turns, and you have the ability to rewind time if you make a mistake. But it's more important to pay attention to oncoming traffic, especially in this race on a two-lane road (if you include the oncoming lane). To make matters worse but much more beautiful, the dynamic weather, 24-hour-cycle system kicked in with the rain making the roads slick.
 
Though there won't be any beta for Forza Horizon 2, a demo will be available in the fall. The final tally for the car roster will be beyond two hundred, though without Porsche, and the livery editor from FM5 will be transferred over to FH2 as well. Forza Horizon 2 will release September 30, 2014 exclusively for Xbox 360 and Xbox One.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Forza Horizon 2


More On GameRevolution