More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox One Exclusive D4 TGS Hands-On - I Can't Put My Arms Down!
But unlike Randy, we don't have layers of coats to hold them up for us.

Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Forza Horizon 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Playground Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Horizon officially expanded.
 
The E3 demo for Forza Horizon 2, the last time I had hands-on time with the upcoming title, showcased a coastal cliffside race against several Drivatars with one of three high-speed vehicles. But the essence of the sequel—the vast, photorealistic world depicting several bordering regions between France and Italywas not ready for action at the time. Luckily, Microsoft showed off the latest build of Forza Horizon 2 at a private closed-door event, showcasing the first hour of open-world gameplay.
 
Though many Forza fans will understandably complain about the game being locked at 30 frames per second, the speeds at which your vehicle of choice will travel across the Mediterranean countryside require much of the world to be drawn and redrawn quickly. Trees, grape vines, and regional homes with tiled roofs and stucco finishes zip past on your high-speed road trips. Thus, the locked framerate is justified, but even so, every car runs, turns, and drifts smoothly to the point that you'll need to focus on the screen to tell the difference.

 
The progression of Forza Horizon 2 works generally the same as its predecessor, centered around the bombastic Horizon Festival, a carnival replete with cheering audiences and ferris wheels. With your advanced driving skills, you've been invited to the event and challenged to become the festival's champion by winning fifteen individual championships spread throughout the map. Each championship is comprised of three or more racing event types that are situated near each other, and you'll earn ranking points for placing well in the hopes of being atop the leaderboard after completing all of them.
 
Most of the race types are carried over from the original Forza Horizon, including Showcase where you face off against a squadron of planes, but the main new racing type, Cross-Country, will have you intentionally bobbing and weaving between asphalt and off-road tracks, whether that means dirt roads or literally barreling through fields of wine country. Opting for the BMW Z4 sDrive35is (A753) from among the opening choices, I claimed the championship in short time, paying close to attention to the racing line, braking properly around corners, avoiding oncoming traffic, and rewinding time if absolutely necessary. The difficulty of the competition from the AI Drivatars, based on the performance of other players, depends on the setting you choose, but you'll earn more credits for turning off assists.
 
Meanwhile you'll receive both experience points and skill points along the way for chaining various maneuvers together, accrued by everything from sideswiping and trading point to e-drifting and clean racing. Skill points can be spent on unlocking perks placed on a 5x5 grid. Starting at the center of the grid, you can eventually reach the most powerful perks hiding in the corners. Leveling up will earn you a wheelspin, a roulette of rewards that gives mostly credits but can land on unlocking free cars as well (it has better odds if you choose the right skill).


 
You can beeline through all the championships, but you'll miss the majority of the 700 events (yes, that many) available in free roam: going through speed traps, finding new cars at barns, and completing various challenges. The GPS system will let you know where to turn, but it's usually much better to cut straight through the grass. Anyway, completing all of these events will all earn you extra credits which you can use to upgrade your car or pay for a new paint job; I gave my BMW a midnight blue shiny finish that glowed green where the sun struck. I didn't have time to through decals over it, but I will in the proper release even if doing so prevents it from being posted in the storefront.
 
The addition of tuning is free, though, and you can adjust everything from tire pressure and gearing, to alignment and anti-roll bars. Better yet, several benchmarks are available for comparison: acceleration from 0-60mph and 0-100mph, lateral G's at 60 and 120, and gearing at final and from 1st to 7th. If I had any gripes with the game, it would be that you can't change your avatar much, but that's not a huge deal since you won't see it your avatar much anyhow.
 
Forza Horizon 2 will release a demo on September 16, 2014 and will release on September 30, 2014 for Xbox One and Xbox 360.
More GR previews for this game:
Forza Horizon 2 preview posted on 06/14/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Forza Horizon 2


More On GameRevolution