More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS YIIK: A Postmodern RPG Preview
What if there was a modern day EarthBound game? YIIK attempts to answer the question.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Forza Horizon 2 Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/14/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Playground Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

A tour de Forza.
 
With Forza Motorsport 5 running along swimmingly, Turn 10 Studios has switched its attention to its other series, Forza Horizon, which debuted just under two years ago in October 2012. Back then, I reviewed the title with high marks, celebrating the freedom of its open world but wanting more of the technical racing that the main series is known for. Luckily, Forza Horizon 2 looks to offer much more challenge, just by the hands-on demo available at Microsoft's booth at the recent E3 2014.


 
Choosing from three vehicles—​the Chevrolet Corvette Stingray, a Lamborghini Huracán LP 610-4, and Nissan GT-R Black Edition—I experienced a twelve-man race along a coastal road populated by various Drivatars, A.I. racers who supposedly drive like the Gamertag-users that they're meant to represent. I started off behind the pack since the player before me decided to leave mere seconds before the start of the race, but I was able to pick up the pace easily. And I played the demo over again, just to make sure I jotted down those car names down properly.
 
Interestingly, the racing line didn't strictly follow the roads but through the fields and over the hills, though it's not too strange since it's supposed to provide the shortest route anyway. Between the jostling and the trading paint, I earned various points for almost everything, including drafting bonuses, clean racing, clean passing, awesome wreckages, and skill chaining. Tightly cornering through checkpoints, I was able to pass enough competitors to claim fourth place.


 
As usual, checking the mini-map in the lower left-hand corner every once in a while is smart as a way to prepare for future turns, and you have the ability to rewind time if you make a mistake. But it's more important to pay attention to oncoming traffic, especially in this race on a two-lane road (if you include the oncoming lane). To make matters worse but much more beautiful, the dynamic weather, 24-hour-cycle system kicked in with the rain making the roads slick.
 
Though there won't be any beta for Forza Horizon 2, a demo will be available in the fall. The final tally for the car roster will be beyond two hundred, though without Porsche, and the livery editor from FM5 will be transferred over to FH2 as well. Forza Horizon 2 will release September 30, 2014 exclusively for Xbox 360 and Xbox One.
More GR previews for this game:
Forza Horizon 2 preview posted on 09/11/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Forza Horizon 2


More On GameRevolution