More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Foul Play Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
09/05/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Mastertronic 
DEVELOPER Mediatonic 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Alcohol Reference, Mild Language, Use of Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

How to fight like a SIR!

Foul Play is as if developers Mediatonic, not to be confused with its publisher Mastertronic, took the characters from Cloudberry Kingdom, had them fight against of enemies from Castle Crashers, and put them all in a theatre sponsored by Skullgirls. I told the two developers on-site at the booth, Luke Barrett and Jeff Tanton, this ridiculous description of their game, and they just chuckled and nodded in agreement. Later, they gave me some nifty buttons. Good show, sirs!

Among all of the bite-sized titles showing at this year's PAX Indie Megabooth, Foul Play was one of the very few that looked complete, polished, and ready for primetime. It might look simple, since it's really just a side-scrolling brawler with cartoonish British characters. But that's just the approachable part which, I must emphasize, enticed an incredible number of walkers-by to the booth. Look a few layers deeper, though, and it becomes clear that Foul Play is able to contend with a wealth of influences.



In a proper nod to the classiness of Sherlock Holmes and other English gentleman, the main character Dashforth is the paragon of an English gentleman, complete with top hat, monacle, handlebar mustache, and cane. He and his trusty sidekick, Scampwick—who wears a driving cap, covers his mouth with a blue bandana wields an steel sledgehammer, and runs like a ninja (and thus is my new favorite character)—decide to put on a play revealing to the masses their various exploits around the world.

And when I say "play," I mean the rowdy English theatre. The entire side-scrolling affair is framed within a seated theatre, with the audience watching in front and the background visibly changing by way of stagehands. The sun and moon will swoop in from behind, spotlights will shine on the ground to show where each protagonist needs to go, and shrubbery will literally be carried away and replaced by sandy deserts in time for the next scene. Enemies will even forget their lines, prompting a frustrated man to rush out from behind the curtain to give them a hint.

As there is no life bar per se, successfully completing each act is tied directly to satisfying the bloodthirsty crowd who wish to see the duo's dashing heroics. This means attacking in long, unterrupted strings of combos, not wasting time dilly-dallying across the stage, and keeping the score multiplier alive. Performing several quick attacks before launching enemies into the air, as well as countering enemies that have the lightning symbol above their hands a la Batman: Arkham Asylum, will usually do the trick. This will keep the Mood-O-Meter high and keep the audience from walking out. The show must go on, quite literally.



As your score increases, so will the bar showing your progress toward a five-star rating, much like Rock Band's. In fact, once your characters have accumulated enough fame, which serves as experience points, they can perform an ability similar to Star Power. Any combos dealt while Star Power is activated will be doubled or, if both characters use it as the same time, quadrupled! Earning five-star ratings will unlock charms that act as perks, other gameplay modifiers, and perchance additional costumes.

Foul Play will have a total of five plays, the first four of which will be separated into five acts and the last of which will only have two acts but act as a grand finale, which promises not only to have an epic boss showdown, but also explain why Dashforth and Scampwick are holding a one night-only show in the first place. Foul Play will release on September 18, 2013 for Xbox Live Arcade and PC via Steam.
Tags:   PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Foul Play


More On GameRevolution