More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Fuse Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
12/12/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Insomniac Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Like the exact opposite of its developer's name, Fuse is some intense multiplayer action.

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to enjoy a few drinks with the rest of the GR crew at EA's New Year's Party, and there they were showing off a lot of classic and updated franchises, but I wanted something brand-spankin' new. So of the batch, it was decided I'd take on the newcomer to the lineup: Fuse, the high-octane FPS with a reflective coat and a gun only Insomniac could come up with.



At first glance, Fuse can be mistaken for a standard futuristic shooter, but it really is more than that. The game is obviously designed to be played with multiple players, ideally four or more. I'm only allowed to talk about the multiplayer aspect of it right now, which is fine by me… it was the more intense of the two and the one I had some serious fun playing. Playing in a co-op team of four, players are tasked with charging into wave after wave of baddies that need eliminating. Each of the four characters a player can take control of have a special skill or weapon; one will take command of a fella with an exploding crossbow, another with a sort of liquid shield, and even a gun with some kind of freezing bullets that allow a player to outright shatter a petrified enemy.

Visually, the game is impressive, with a lot of detail and thought seemingly entered into both the character designs and environments. The stage we were placed into, named "Echelon," was almost a space dock packed with a ship and various crates (I assume they're filled with cargo; they didn't move at all throughout the battles). Each wave of enemiesactually stated as "Wave #"came from one of a small handful of areas dotted throughout the map and included a diverse batch of baddies that each took a different approach. This one's obviously designed to be enjoyed with multiple players, as each specialty weapon has to be used correctly or you're simply done.



The action was smooth and simple, easy to pick up for anyone familiar with the genre, and could really gain some traction should the online play keep solid and speedy. It wasn't particularly clear what the "fuse" ability can be used for (save for giving the game a name), though it seemed to give weapons a golden sheen and additional power, but it's promising to expand on strategic options and weapons capabilities. Hopefully something unique can be brought to that situation instead of being a simplistic "here's something like Mario's Super Star," like it came off in the brief time I was able to wield it.

This could be the team-based shooter fanboys are looking for, provided the maps keep up with demand (Echelon was fairly small, but allowed for some intense firefighting). It should be one to watch as it approaches its Spring 2013 release.
More GR previews for this game:
Fuse preview posted on 12/12/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fuse


More On GameRevolution