More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers 20th Anniversary Edition Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
06/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Pinkerton Road Studio 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Southern Charms

Although Jane Jensen fans were recently fed her Kickstarter success, Moebius, Pinkerton Road and Phoenix Online Publishing look to rekindle some of that passion with a bottom-up remake. Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers came out 21 years ago, starting a new following for the now-vested game writer. This remake promises to give fans not only an opportunity to tread the roads of New Orleans again but also a way to play it on an operating system newer than Win 3.1 or Mac OS 7.

We sat down with Katie Hallahan of Phoenix Online to see what the remake has to offer. The most immediately noticeable update is to the game's graphics. The simulated 3D sprites of the original have been newly modeled and rendered. Environments now contain tons of beautiful detail not present or possible in the original, but first glances will feel immediately familiar. That said, the developers didn’t rest on their laurels—some hotspots have been changed to make more sense in today’s gaming landscape and there’s less guesswork when it comes to cursors and interactions. Context is everything.

Once the eponymous protagonist waltzed into his rare book store, we got to see him go at it with his receptionist, Grace, like old times. What isn’t old is the voice acting. Gabriel Knight stalwarts may be surprised to learn that all the voices have been redone but not by the likes of Tim Curry and Mark Hamill. Fear not! Bay Area Sound, popular for the voice work they’ve lent to Telltale Games, provided their talented cast to refresh all the dialog.

Other than the graphics and the sounds, nothing else has been changed, assured Hallahan. The story will still be the same as fans remember and new players will get to find out what made Jane Jensen famous. Events still promise to be as intense and crazy as before and now they’ll have the added oomph of modern development. The just-for-fun point system is still around for completionists, but now there will be some Steam achievements to make them feel more worthwhile. And if all this wasn’t enough, bonus development stories and concept art can be unlocked as players progress.

We don’t have a price or a firm release date yet for Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers 20th Anniversary Edition, but I was told it should come out late this summer. Whether this is the start of a series of remakes for Gabriel is yet to be seen. Regardless, this should tide over some Jensen loyalists until her next release, whatever that may be.

Tags:   indie, PC, E3

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Fathers 20th Anniversary Edition


More On GameRevolution