More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Ghostbusters Sanctum of Slime Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
03/15/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Behavior Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

My nerd PKE meter is off the charts!


This could really just be the shortest preview I’ve ever written.

Two words: Gauntlet Ghostbusters.

There. That sums Sanctum of Slime up completely. Go on, go about the rest of your day. What, you want more words? Ok, here’s two more:

Gauntlet Ghostbusters!

Happy yet? No? Alright, fine. My bosses probably wouldn’t appreciate ending a preview here (even though I totally could).

Gauntlet Ghostbusters!!!

click to enlargeYes, later this month you’ll be able to download a game that combines two separate yet equally influential components of great nerd history. Sanctum of Slime is a four player co-op dungeon crawler a la Gauntlet (or Smash TV, or Diablo, if that’s more familiar) featuring four new Ghostbuster recruits who need to put the next big ghost epidemic in New York in the containment unit where it belongs.

You’ll start with just the regular red proton beam, but as you progress you’ll unlock extra weapons: a yellow spread shot that functions like a shotgun blast, and a slower, powerful blue projectile that bounces off walls and slows ghosts on contact. To complement the weapon types, most ghosts come in red, blue, and yellow varieties, each weaker against beams of their respective colors. It might sound simple, but when multiple waves of varying colored ghosts start swarming your paranormal mercenary squad, the action gets frantic (play with friends to revel in the desperate shouting and joyful cries that only four-player co-op can provide).

click to enlargeWe got to see a few levels, including a wrecked hotel, a trip through the sewers (would you expect anything less from a game called Sanctum of Slime?) and a hectic drive through the Manhattan streets on the next generation of the Ecto-1. Every level has a healthy offering of destructible objects that you can blast for bonus points. Despite the competitive nature of a point system, there’s also a definite sense of camaraderie as you can bring your downed buddies back to life if you kneel down to help them long enough. This becomes paramount in the harder areas, because if the whole team gets knocked out at once you’ll get sent to the last checkpoint.

Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime will be released later this month, so you’ll soon be able to get your fill of the most ectoplasmic, proton pack-iest, stream crossing-est dungeon crawler ever made. But after all that, only two words need be spoken – it’s (say it with me now):

GAUNTLET GHOSTBUSTERS!!!
More GR previews for this game:
Ghostbusters Sanctum of Slime preview posted on 03/15/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Ghostbusters Sanctum of Slime


More On GameRevolution