More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Girls' Fashion Shoot Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
10/03/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Misc. 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Rising Star Games 
DEVELOPER Rising Star Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

I picked this up for a minute, and OMIGOD an hour just passed.

Had you asked me what game I was most interested in amongst those at Rising Star Games' recent 3DS showing for the press, I would never have picked Girls' Fashion Shoot out of the lineup. The publisher was so focused on showcasing Beyblade: Evolution that they seemed surprised when I asked, on a whim, if I could try out the fashion game.

On the face of it, Girls' Fashion Shoot sounds like absolute shovelware. It's a 3DS title that you'd expect to see alongside collections of mini-games associated with Nickelodeon or Disney brands, tossed into a bin months after release to die the landfill death pioneered by so many copies of Atari's ET. You'd think that, but this game has a surprising amount of depth for its simple concept.



Girls' Fashion Shoot's story is a nice piece of fluff where you take on the role of a girl who is both the lead model and editor of a high-end fashion magazine. Money earned for fashion shoots not only allows you to customize your look, but also your apartment, so that your environment gets more personalized the more successful you become. The game's focus is on the prep and fashion shoots: You set the look, the facial expression, the pose, the clothes, the background, and any visual accents you want to add. Based on how successfully you fulfill the assignment of objectives with your photo, the more money you receive. 

At this point, Girls' Fashion Shoot sounds about like any other fashion game. Where it differs is the absolutely ridiculous degree of customization. The clothes, the hair, the poses, and the faces are one thing, but it's the layout that's really impressive. Once you've selected the shot for your model, you have the opportunity to change elements of the picture. The number of elements that you can add or change to the picture are simply staggering.



Want a lens flare? How about three? Feel free to change the sizes and colors. Or surround the model with hearts and a background pattern you can change the base color of. The interface for this is like using a stripped-down photo editor to add or subtract effects and background or foreground elements. It's like a toy version of photoshop that simplifies the operation but keeps the variability. It's awesome.

Girls' Fashion Shoot may be simple in concept, but for the fashion game genre it offers an incredible amount of depth for a game that feels this casual. I could honestly see myself spending hours upon hours playing Girls' Fashion Shoot with the different options available for each shoot, coming from never having an interest in these kinds of games before.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Girls' Fashion Shoot