More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

God of War: Ascension Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
04/30/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Santa Monica Studio 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content

What do these ratings mean?

Before he was a God, he was a man fighting against other men online.


I used to wonder what Kratos did in his off time. Did he have a hobby? Did he like to play games or... knit? Maybe he liked to forge new weapons in the fires of Hades. Well, now we know. The warriors of Sparta and Troy faced off in online battles for glory and XP.

God of War Ascension introduces multiplayer to the long-time single-player series through a visceral, gory, high fidelity massacre. The developers at Santa Monica Studio are quick to point out that the trailer revealed last week was single-player-focused for a reason: to keep us in the dark.



Multiplayer takes the combat and violence we love about the series and allow people to fight each other with godly weapons. In fact, one of the first decisions players will make is which God to align themselves with. Will you fight for the glory of Athena or Poseidon? Will you honor Zeus with the blood of your enemies or is Ares more deserving?

This relationship is not a one-way street, either. Gods will return your favor with specific weapons and abilities. As you level up, new weapons and perks will become available to you, rounding out the types of attacks you'll have at your disposal. While there's a definite Call of Duty influence, it's hard to create a truly addictive multiplayer mode that doesn't allow for customization.



In the match journalists saw last week, Santa Monica Studio decided to mess with the audience by opening the battle like a typical single-player demo. As the Kratos-looking player character attacked a cyclops, another playerto our collective surprisejumped in to help finish off the beast. That's when the two proceeded down a corridor that opened up into a huge arena.

There, the pair quickly started battle in a 4-versus-4 domination-style match titled Team Execution. In this match type, players must capture points, receive a lightning-infused spear called the "Spirit of Olympus", and brutally kill a giant cyclops.



Each capture point requires quick-time events in God of War fashion to take over. They also take the form of a gear with chains that, when drawn, pulls the giant cyclops closer to one side of the arena or the other. With all points held, the cyclops can be attacked and eventually each member of the team can hold open the cyclops' eyelids. That's when the player on-screen can take the Spirit of Olympus and spike it violently in the monster's eye for the win. As far as touchdown dances go, that's gotta be a big one.

Santa Monica Studio certainly seems eager to prove itself in the multiplayer space. We'll be sure to let you know when they're ready to talk about God of War Ascension's single player.
More GR previews for this game:
Single-player preview posted on 02/03/13.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about God of War: Ascension


More On GameRevolution