More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Golden Sun: Dark Dawn Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/30/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Camelot 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Here comes the sun, and I say, “It's alright.”


I'm not sure what Camelot's been doing for the past few years. Reminiscing about old times? Burning through their hard-earned cash like MC Hammer? Regardless, making video games probably wasn't high on the list, because other than a couple of Mario sports games we haven't seen a peep out of the developer since they concluded the original Golden Sun story in The Lost Age.

click to enlargeBut hey, all's well that ends well, right? The long, long overdue new installment in this great series is right around the corner. Unlike The Lost Age, however, Golden Sun: Dark Dawn does not start right where its predecessor left off. This is truly a brand new adventure, in almost a brand new world.

30 years after the last game, the world has transformed (quite literally) into a different place. The power of the Golden Sun has changed the landscape and created new species of creatures just waiting to be discovered by adventurers. Those adventurers, whom you control, turn out to be the children of the heroes from the original games.

The new threat to world peace comes in the form of Psynergy Vortexes, which have appeared all over to suck the magical psynergy power from the land and the adepts who wield it. Returning to help stop the calamity are the still cute-and-cuddly Djinni, ready to boost your power and help you summon just like before.

click to enlargeThe game's puzzles are just like the previous two installments, revolving around using your psynergy to get past obstacles that you often can't physically affect. While the old button commands are still there, you now have the option of using touch-screen controls to cater to all your psynergy needs. For instance, you can use the Move spell to push boulders and pillars out of your way by dragging them with the stylus.

The battle system, from what we've seen so far, looks just about the same as it did on the GBA, only with fancier graphics. You still have the same battle commands, many of the same psynergy spells, and unleash Djinn in special moves, which you can then use to call down your summons. Familiar summons like Ramses and Kirin return, along with some new beasts to put the hurt on your enemies. And just like with the field controls, you can use the touch screen to execute all your battle plans if you so choose.

Keep an eye out later this year, because the Dark Dawn will arrive to brighten up your DS collection this holiday season.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Golden Sun: Dark Dawn