More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

GoldenEye 007: Reloaded Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
10/12/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Activision 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Mild Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

All that glitters is released again.


Finally, GoldenEye 007 is being released on a non-Nintendo console. It's not as though nobody saw this coming… in essence, we were all asking for it to be on something other than the Wii. The Wii isn't really designed for everyday gunplay, so the more choices, the merrier!



The Xbox 360 and PS3 are both getting Goldeneye 007: Reloaded, and the biggest change from the Wii version (aside from an obvious sharpening of edges) is the twin-stick controls being an actual option. A "real" controller instead of the Wiimote pointing at the screen? Sign me up. Still, if you're one of the group that enjoys pointing at the TV and shouting "bang", you have the opportunity on the PS3; yup, it works with the Sharp Shooter and Move controllers. Most players will likely be playing with the dual sticks, though hopefully the gameplay will tighten up a bit more before release; it wasn't terrible, but there was some notable latency.

The big change to the GoldenEye formula is the online component. Now, finally, 16-player deathmatches can be had! At what should be a full 60 frames per second, 16 players can blast through a diverse array of both new and familiar maps featuring good ol' Pierce Brosnan Daniel Craig, Oddjob, Scaramanga (the Golden Gun, baby!), Jaws, and over 50 others. Fourteen of the characters, the classics like the fellas I just named, have unique features: Jaws can use his steel teeth; Dr. No's arms are cybernetic so hitting them won't do any  damage at all; and so on.


There are even a few new weapons to accompany the classic machine guns and the infamous Golden Gun. The Moonraker laser pistol, Goldfinger's gold-plated revolver, the C96 Mouser, and others come along with the over 30 rifles, pistols, and launchers from the original Wii incarnation. This is being touted as the "authentic Bond experience", and while there is still plenty of deviation from the source material, the actual game is still, at its core, Goldeneye. Hopefully the issues with the Wii incarnation have been worked out by now, but we won't know until the final product is on the doorstep.

GoldeneEye 007: Reloaded's release date is November 1st, 2011. If the online multiplayer is anything like we all remember from the N64, then… damn, can't wait!
More GR previews for this game:
GoldenEye 007: Reloaded preview posted on 10/12/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about GoldenEye 007: Reloaded


More On GameRevolution