More Reviews
REVIEWS Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Review
Borderlands: The-Prequel promises the moon, but does it even get off the ground?

The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Gotham City Impostors Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/19/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Multiplayer FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros 
DEVELOPER Monolith 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Comic Mischief, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?


Duh-nuh-nuh-nuh-nuh, so on and so forth.


It was easy to write Gotham City Impostors off as a Batman: Arkham City spinoff when it was announced. Who'd waste their time playing a first-person shooter filled with Batmen and Jokerz-with-a-z? Me. That's who.

The beta is starting to trickle out to console and PC gamers now and even an hour with the game can give you a great impression of the unique spin Monolith is putting on the multiplayer shooter that's taken gaming by storm and won't let go of no matter how badly we'd like to move on and please I'm so sick of all these military shooters when will it stop?



Gotham City Impostors takes the classes, player cards, and gadgets you'd find in other first-person shooters and gives them a made-in-my-garage spin. You'll use hunting bows, trash-can body armor, and a ton of glue and tape. There are still plenty of options to narrow down your class in addition to a handful of body types to choose from.

Easily the best addition to the formula is the numerous gadgets you can choose from. A cape allows you to glide and dive-bomb your enemies. A grappling hook allows you to attach to the environment and wind yourself up into the air or onto rooftops. Spring shoes allow you to charge up jumps. Two inflatable beach balls strapped to your feet give you the ability to double jump.

That kind of madness means maps become instantly vertical affairs. Threats exist in every direction and your opponents aren't limited by the surrounding environment. That means the action is faster and you have to be more nimble and more aware than in any other shooter.



The beta is limited to two game modes. The first is a Domination style mode where you hold three points until you fill the environment up with nerve gas or bat pheromones. The second is a capture the flag-style game where you capture a battery and use it to blast propaganda supporting your team.

The maps and modes may be limited right now but the extensive customization options and additions to the genre make Gotham City Impostors one to watch leading up to its release.
More GR previews for this game:
Gotham City Impostors preview posted on 12/12/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Gotham City Impostors


More On GameRevolution