More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Gotham City Impostors Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
12/12/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Multiplayer FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros 
DEVELOPER Monolith 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Comic Mischief, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Holy haberdashery, Batman!


Gotham City Imposters is a silly idea. Let's take a bunch of kooky Batman cosplayers, slide them through the video game machine, and see what comes out its rear. Oh, and give them some guns toothat always makes things better. It's the kind of sadistic merriment that only the Joker can conceive and construe between his wickedly boisterous chortles. In that wayand what a way that isGotham City Imposters makes more sense than it ever should.

Objectively, Gotham City Imposters plays similar to Counter-Strike, or Team Fortress 2 if it weren't as class-driven, but that description falls flat on its face into a pie filled with goofiness. Monolith Productions obviously has a twisted sense of humor and humility, and they have no trouble concocting a download-only multiplayer first-person shooter that pits Batman vigilantes, who occasionally wear T-shirts with the word “Pizza”, against Joker wannabes who have as much time to put on white makeup as drag-queen geishas.



Everything you might expect from the typical team-based multiplayer shoot-fest has a layer of the unconventionally preposterous. Sure, you could walk and run through the hallways and loading docks of a warehouse arena, but that's hardly as amusing as dashing through the empty roads on a pair of rollerskates, hookshotting your way along the rooftops, or jumping on a trampoline to reach a higher platform. Flash grenades turn into ninja smoke bombs, claymores turn into bear traps. Power-ups and special items appear on the battlefield in nicely wrapped presents. If it's not comical, it's probably not in this game.

Don't get distracted by the tomfoolery, though. Despite the game's cartoony exterior, Team Deathmatch shouldn't be treated like a walk in the park, and making sure your team of four communicates and commits to their roles remains an upmost priority. With a primary weapon, a secondary weapon, a thrown weapon, and whatever else you can shoulder, it's seductive to believe you can act like the lone wolf, like I did for several matches with melee kills. But eventually, the other team will wise up and attack in groups, gaining an advantage in match modes like the “capture the flag” Psychological Warfare, which temporarily brainwashes the team that allows their opponents to carry a battery back to their base.



Though the game recommends certain weapons and items for specialized classes, you can customize your character as you see fit. As you gain experience through multiplayer matches, time trials, the campaign which has a loose story, and other optional challenges, you will earn unlock cards and access to a wide arsenal of artillery and costume options. Nothing like wearing a pair of bunny slippers as you wipe out the opposition with an exploding jack-in-a-box. Harley Quinn would be proud.

Gotham City Imposters swoops into action on January 10, 2012 as a downloadable title on Xbox 360, PS3, and PC. You can register for the open beta for a limited time on the game's official website.
More GR previews for this game:
Beta includes Video Preview posted on 12/19/11.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Gotham City Impostors