More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

GRID Autosport Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
04/22/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Bandai Namco 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Heading back on track.
 
Before senior developers Clive Moody and Andy Stewart introduced GRID Autosport, the next installment in the simulation racing GRID franchise, with a PowerPoint presentation, I noticed that the group I was assigned was understandably nearing exhaustion. This was our fourth or fifth game, in our third rotation, and possibly due to certain events that happened the night before in Las Vegas (something about what stays here...), several of us were only awake on fumes. I could tell that the energy in the room had been sapped, so when the developers asked how we were all feeling, I did the only thing I thought I could do without arousing suspicion of my sanity: I rose my arms and shouted, "Go Codemasters!"
 
Luckily, the developers were equally excited to show GRID Autosport, in part because its fans (myself including) felt its most recent installment DiRT Showdown veered too far off the road. This is their opportunity to swerve back to the center and create a more straightforward, bread-and-butter simulation racer that's not as clinical as a Gran Turismo, while still retaining several arcade elements for good measure.


 
In line with the emphasis on both accurate and entertaining racing, GRID Autosport will feature five flavors of racing that range from precise and technical, to wild and aggressive. Touring car races tend to have packed grids where rivals often trade paint, while street races highlight tight city roads, limited line of sight, and head-to-head competition. Endurance races, as the name implies, can last for an hour or longer into the night, with tire wear factoring into whether you want to attack early or bide your time for assertive passing later.
 
The new open-wheel racing will highlight Formula 1-style liveries that can reach ridiculous top speeds but will understeer easily if you're not careful with the gas pedal coming out of a wide-angle turn. This form of technical racing is also supported by tuner competitions that underline well-managed car upgrades and adjustments. Satisfying all five divisions, not solely one, is the only way to proceed through the career mode and gain the attention of ultimate teams like Raven West.


 
That said, the difficulty has a generous range of options that simulation racing fans will recognize, including ABS assists, the Flashback system which allows you to rewind time, and the layering of the racing line on top of the track. Any assists you turn off, in turn, will reward you more experience points than normal. You can enter qualifying races as well to better your starting position for the main event.
 
For better online interaction, GRID Autosport comes with an upgrade that many RaceNet fans have been clamoring for: car clubs. Up to 100 members can join a single club, and while there's currently no in-game reward for being a part of one, there will be bragging rights. Members within a club can also choose to have specific decals to show their colors and brew healthy competition. If you're a fan looking for friendly competition, you'll also appreciate the reappearance of Demolition Mode among the various game types in party mode.
 
GRID Autosport will release for Xbox 360, PS3, and PC on June 24, 2014.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about GRID Autosport


More On GameRevolution