More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition Preview

gil_almogi By:
Gil_Almogi
04/13/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER DrinkBox Studios 
DEVELOPER DrinkBox Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Luchadorable!

If you haven’t purchased Guacamelee! yet, you’ll want to hold out a little longer for Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition, coming out soon in late May/early June. This is not just a HD reboot or a port of the original title. All new content has been incorporated into the entire game. We’re looking at new levels, a new boss, new enemies, all previous DLC, new costumes, and a costume editor.



The entire story has been altered to fit these upgrades in, as opposed to tacking it onto the end. The designer, Chris McQuinn, told me that the majority of this content is what they wished they could’ve added to the original game but didn’t have time for. So imagine this literally supped-up edition to be the Extended Edition with plenty of deleted scenes included.

During my playthrough on the PS4 version, I got to see the new boss, a skeletal version of an entire mariachi band. You read that right. His form is rather hilarious, incorporating multiple skeletons into one. And for no other reason than to be funny, one of the members is a horse with a little blue hat and maracas in its hands/hooves. There's probably some reference to El Dia de Los Muertos here.



I also got to experience a new ability called Intenso, introduced in a new scene involving a ferry boat that’s ambushed while it navigates a river. Players will have a rechargeable bar underneath their ability meter, and Intenso is activated by pushing down on the two thumbsticks. When activated, it initially pushes enemies away, so it’s a good way to gain control over a crowd. After that, your moves become a bit stronger, and you can keep Intenso going as long as you maintain your combos.

Guacamelee! STCE is still slick, exciting, and as colorful as ever, so there’s no doubt that those who did not get to play before have something to look forward to. The title is slated to come out for Playstation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and Nintendo WiiU. Thus far, it is not being developed for Playstation 3 or Playstation Vita yet.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition


More On GameRevolution