More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hard Corps: Uprising Preview

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
06/19/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER ARC System Works 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Use of Tobacco, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Don't call it a comeback.


Look, I know that Hard Corps: Uprising looks a lot like Contra and, yes, it plays like Contra too. But it's not Contra. Do you see the big C word anywhere in the title? Nope. See, that's all it takes. Although it is a prequel to the original Hard Corps for the Sega Genesis, it is the same universe that we've all come to know and love. Only with a few changes.

click to enlargeARC System Works, the same developers behind Guilty Gear and Blazblue, have put their signature touch on this iteration, giving it the stylized hand-drawn over-the-top animé look that all their games have. Which of course means their signature sense of humor is present as well. Grunts are very much like the bumbling fodder that you're used to finding in Metal Slug games, bringing the sphere of influence full circle. There are even shout-outs to the original NES Contra, such as a barricade that bears more than a striking resemblance to the boss of the original level 1-1.

Along with the traditional rapid-fire machine gun and spread shot upgrades, new weapons such as a chargeable blaster and an enemy-seeking laser have been added to keep things fresh. The demo level we saw at E3 even included an epic hover motorcycle chase with a couple of giant canyons that required you to quick-time-event jump over canyons.

click to enlargeYou can still expect the explosive, fast-paced side-scrolling action that you've come to know and love from the Contra series (even though it's not a Contra game). They have added a life bar and the ability to dash, both in the air and on the ground to Hard Corps, but overall it's the same good times that we've all become familiar with over the years.

I've got say for a game that's not supposed to be Contra, this is shaping up to be one of the best Contra games arcade run-and-gun action titles to come out in a long time. You can expect to see a finished version of Hard Corps: Uprising much later this year on XBLA and PSN.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hard Corps: Uprising


More On GameRevolution