More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hell Yeah! Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/10/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Arkedo Studio 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Did you know the Devil can die?


If you ask Sega, he did. And he was a bunny rabbit. And, apparently, also a massive prick. He died and left his son in charge of Hell, but after a stray photo from the paparazzi got out (I assume Lady GaGa's a photographer in Hell) the new overlord, Prince Ash, has decided not just to get it taken downthat would be too easy—but also to murder everyone who viewed the photo online. No need to take it down if everyone who viewed it is dead, right?



That's the "logic" here. Hell Yeah! follows Prince Ash on his journey into murderous bliss. In Metroid-vania fashion, he'll bounce all over the screen to explore areas for the bastards that read the article about his little… *cough*incident*cough*, while searching for expensive gems that can help him beef up his weaponry to blow the stronger bastards to smithereens. A prince has gotta do what a prince has gotta do.

Even with the dark tones throughout the environment, I had no idea just how pretty Hell could be. The rocks and ground spaces are reddish-orange and black, the backdrop is only lit by lava, and the prince himself looks like a detailed, raggedy, zombie-esque bunny rabbit.  Oh, and everything is beautifully set on fire! Glorious! There are certain spaces with some bright pastel colors, but as striking as they might be, they blend in well enough that they don't feel out of place.



With 100 specific guys to track down and beat the ever-loving crap out of, a spinning gyro that doubles as some sort of frigid' chainsaw (and cuts through anything it touches), and a prince with a sense of humor along with a pissy demeanor, I'm genuinely looking forward to Hell Yeah! as a finished product.  With 100 special baddies and only 10 levels of Hell, I'm hoping for a fair amount of honest-to-goodness diversity instead of a few great ones mixed in with shades of gray, but we'll find out when all is said and done.

Look for a new prince at the end of this summer sometime.  And on that note, I'll see you in Hell.
More GR previews for this game:
Hell Yeah! preview posted on 06/10/12.
Tags:   E3, Sega, XBLA, PSN, Steam

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hell Yeah!


More On GameRevolution