More Reviews
REVIEWS Tearaway Unfolded Review
Does the PS4 version offer worthwhile new features or are they paper thin?

Mario Maker Review
Nintendo puts Mario's fate in the hands of players in Super Mario Maker, and the result is one of the best games of the year.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Supernova Preview
Primal Game Studios has tuned Supernova since last I saw it, with more commanders, special abilities, and a faster pace.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: Out Now

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

Hitman: Absolution Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
01/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER IO Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Marky Mark skills.


After a six-year hiatus, IO Interactive has been working diligently on the next episode of the Hitman series. We have all been waiting to hear word on when our favorite bald assassin would be taking out corrupt politicians and perverted rich heirs again. Well, the wait is over, sort of… After getting a hands-off demo showing of the new Hitman, I currently can say it has been worth the wait.

Most of the in-depth details are still under lock and key and seem like won’t be revealed until the 13th hour, but we should expect the best Hitman yet. With a whole new engine, Glacier 2, gameplay is looking to have the same original style with some fresh flavor for the new school. Long-time lovers of the series will enjoy all of the classic Agent 47 tactics, such as taking on disguises and “accidently” killing enemies.



A few new features have been added as well, such as “Instinct”. Producers wanted to show how intuitive 47 is, how he can sense when an enemy is lurking around the corner and where his foe might be headed. “Point-shooting” is another main feature. Think Red Dead Redemption. If you haven’t played that, then think how 47 is so amazing he can slow down time, aim at ten people in a room, and take them all out before one can even scratch his or her nose.

As for other changes, some personal favorites of mine are the addition of armor rating and plain-sight hiding. It brings a touch of realism to it all. Past editions would allow Agent 47 to hide in disguises that no one would even question his get-up. If 47 is dressed up as a cop, doctors and security guards still might not notice him., but other cops will become suspicious and want a closer look. This is when plain-sight hiding takes effect. How do you look like a cop? Well, you have to act like a cop: 47 will talk in his radio, eat a donut, or do whatever he must to play the part of his disguise.



Hitman: Absolution is looking to set itself apart from past Hitman games. With Agent 47 on a personal journey, the story will focus on 47’s struggle for vendetta. The quest for absolution may end disastrously for old baldy... or everything might be sunshine and tequila shots. But whatever the outcome, we’re sure to been thrown down the rabbit hole before it’s all said and done.

Be on the lookout for when IO Interactive drops this fifth installment of the series sometime in 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Hitman: Absolution preview posted on 01/11/12.
Hitman: Absolution preview posted on 05/29/12.
Tags:   Hitman

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hitman: Absolution


More On GameRevolution