More Reviews
REVIEWS Dokuro (PC) Review
Dokuro makes the jump from handheld to PC, but does it help or hinder this unusual platformer?

About Love, Hate, and the other Review
Simple feelings. Complex puzzles.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Magicka 2 Preview
How does that sing-along song go? "Magicka 2, Magicka 2, for the Playstation 4, and the PC, too..."
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 5
Release date: 12/31/14

Motorcycle Club
Release date: 01/01/15

Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemist of Dusk
Release date: 01/14/15

Saints Row: Gat out of Hell
Release date: 01/20/15


LATEST FEATURES Yakuza 5: Good Game With a Few Pacing Problems [Hands-on Preview]
I like this, but will others be OK with the change?

GameRevolution's Best of 2014 Awards
Here are all of the awards in one handy post.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP ryanbates
Gamer Love
By ryanbates
Posted on 12/19/14
When a player one meets his or her player two, it's a beautiful thing. Check out this cake my friend and GameRevolution reader Lindsey L. gave her sweetums on their two-year anniversary!   ...

Hitman: Absolution Preview

Devin_Charles By:
Devin_Charles
01/11/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER IO Interactive 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Marky Mark skills.


After a six-year hiatus, IO Interactive has been working diligently on the next episode of the Hitman series. We have all been waiting to hear word on when our favorite bald assassin would be taking out corrupt politicians and perverted rich heirs again. Well, the wait is over, sort of… After getting a hands-off demo showing of the new Hitman, I currently can say it has been worth the wait.

Most of the in-depth details are still under lock and key and seem like won’t be revealed until the 13th hour, but we should expect the best Hitman yet. With a whole new engine, Glacier 2, gameplay is looking to have the same original style with some fresh flavor for the new school. Long-time lovers of the series will enjoy all of the classic Agent 47 tactics, such as taking on disguises and “accidently” killing enemies.



A few new features have been added as well, such as “Instinct”. Producers wanted to show how intuitive 47 is, how he can sense when an enemy is lurking around the corner and where his foe might be headed. “Point-shooting” is another main feature. Think Red Dead Redemption. If you haven’t played that, then think how 47 is so amazing he can slow down time, aim at ten people in a room, and take them all out before one can even scratch his or her nose.

As for other changes, some personal favorites of mine are the addition of armor rating and plain-sight hiding. It brings a touch of realism to it all. Past editions would allow Agent 47 to hide in disguises that no one would even question his get-up. If 47 is dressed up as a cop, doctors and security guards still might not notice him., but other cops will become suspicious and want a closer look. This is when plain-sight hiding takes effect. How do you look like a cop? Well, you have to act like a cop: 47 will talk in his radio, eat a donut, or do whatever he must to play the part of his disguise.



Hitman: Absolution is looking to set itself apart from past Hitman games. With Agent 47 on a personal journey, the story will focus on 47’s struggle for vendetta. The quest for absolution may end disastrously for old baldy... or everything might be sunshine and tequila shots. But whatever the outcome, we’re sure to been thrown down the rabbit hole before it’s all said and done.

Be on the lookout for when IO Interactive drops this fifth installment of the series sometime in 2012.
More GR previews for this game:
Hitman: Absolution preview posted on 01/11/12.
Hitman: Absolution preview posted on 05/29/12.
Tags:   Hitman

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hitman: Absolution