More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
12/12/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER SCEA 
DEVELOPER Clap Hanz 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Hit it long, hit it straight.


Another solid launch title for the PlayStation Vita, Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational rounded out the available catalog at the first PS Vita Social Club, nestled on a street corner in San Francisco. As a public venue, open until the PS Vita's US debut in February, the Social Club had plenty of PS Vita goodness to offer: Uncharted: Golden Abyss, Uncharted 3 showing off Sony's $499 3DTV, multiple stations of WipEout 2048, boxes of free pizza, free Nesquik samples, and even berry-flavored cans of yerba mate tea.

Oddly, World Invitational was nowhere to be found, and feeling that Sony might have been holding out on me, I asked one of the fine event ladies about the title and was quickly handed a PS Vita pre-loaded with the game. And after several playthroughs of the demo, I'm surprised it wasn't on display earlier.



The demo offered a brief look of the beginning of the game, featuring the first three holes of the Maple Leaf Golf Course and some of the changes in the character setup. Similar to Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds for PS3, the roster is limited to only two characters at the start: one girl named Yuna and one boy named Yamato. Both characters serve well as beginner characters, who despite their lack of power and spin ability, have straighter strokes and a larger area of impact. Yuna has slightly less power than Yamato, but her control and sidespin is slightly better.

Perhaps recognizing the wave of golf MMORPGs in Asia like Pangya: Fantasy Golf, World Invitational has added costume customization for the entire roster, more than the simple costume swaps from previous Hot Shots Golf titles. You can change the colors of everything from hair, accessories, shirt, pants, gloves, socks, and shoesall of which should allow you to distinguish yourself from the rest of the online world for multiplayer. This is already in addition to the selection of different balls and clubs, most of which were unlocked in the demo.


As for the actual golfing... it's Hot Shots Golf. You still whack an unnecessarily small ball into an unnecessarily small hole and then prance around if you get a birdie. You can use the classic gauge or the newer circle gauge to set your power and accuracy (I like the classic gauge myself). The Maple Leaf Course takes place in a gorgeous rustic landscape with green valleys, blue skies, and a soft breeze that makes you want to shout "Ricola!". Everything is bright, round, and bubbly, as it should be in Hot Shot Golf, in stark contrast to how frustrating golf really is.

Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational is set to tee off at the PS Vita's launch on February 22nd, 2012.
Tags:   PS Vita
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational


More On GameRevolution