More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hydro Thunder Hurricane Preview

Chris_Hudak By:
Chris_Hudak
06/03/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Vector Unit 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Alcohol Reference, Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Splash damage.


Each one of us is haunted by that one 'classic' videogame franchise that, somehow, we just never got around to playing in its original form, back in the day—the one for which, you might say, we just missed the boat.

click to enlargeAs a player, coming into a recently-resurrected game franchise as a first-timer can be rough: First, you can get those distrustful, Salem-worthy Looks from nerdwad couch-denter types who played the original games to death and can't believe that you apparently chose, say, chasing girls that year. Second, once you DO start playing the game in its new, resurrected form, you're likely at an immediate PvP disadvantage...that is, at least until you get up to speed. Third and by far worst of all, you just might get screwed: What if the resurrected-incarnation/reboot/sequel game experience—of which you're only just now getting your first taste—turns out to fall unforgivably short of that incomparable Classic original of yore?

Fortunately, it looks as if even gamers only just now dipping their toes into the Hydro Thunder experience will be getting a faithful, spirited continuation of the gaming classic. Lifeboated away from the drowned wreckage of Midway Games via a fortuitous licensing deal, Hydro Thunder will soon re-surface as Hydro Thunder Hurricane, complete with rocketing speedboats, all new detail-rich environments, breakable obstacles, cool water physics and a vengeful, just-one-more-race sense of competition, danger and speed. The Vector Unit folks didn't make the original Hydro Thunder...but they obviously had some love for it. We got a chance to get our, um, feet wet with some multiplayer time last week in San Francisco.

Getting the big worry out of the way, here: What's been shown (and played) so far does Hydro Thunder proud, and then some. Insanely-powerful rocket-powered watercraft, lots of Boost power-ups, wonderfully-vibrant (and oft-divergent) courses, satisfying wake-pluming turns, ridiculous-awesome falls, controls that are just loose and jivey enough to bring out the Crazy in players—it's all here.

click to enlargeThe race-courses are just...nuts. I say this with love. Nuts, with a playfully-vicious sense of humor, too, because if you see a potential shortcut or a carefully-placed power-up that seems just a little too temptingly-located to be entirely 'right'...then you're probably right.

The phrase 'over the top' was bandied about rather a lot during our competitive (and, a bit later in the evening - more than a smidge drunken) multiplayer session... but you only really start to really appreciate 'over the top' when you find your rocket-boat dodging to avoid the Loch Ness Monster that has inexplicably reared up before you in an otherwise tropical setting; or taking a sudden, gargantuan water-fall drop worthy of Hoover Dam; or racing out of Area 51 and straight into an alien world via a telportation portal; or barreling up on the towering form of a mythological deity looming up in the sky before you.

Even the seemingly-mundane stuff that can't hurt you can... well, hurt you: Flick your eyes up for a split-second to admire the pretty train trundling on tracks overhead and BLAM!--you've slammed into a stone pillar along the banks of the river you're currently carving up. And if it looks like you're going to luck out and somehow miss said pillar on your own, another racer on the course will probably be happy to nudge you into it at 150-or-so knots.

click to enlargeOf course, as much as the courses themselves, it's those seven other live players (for a total of eight; or four for local splitscreen) you've got to watch out for...them, and the independently-generated wakes created by their own respective craft.

The joyously-evil levels of players' boats interacting with each other was supremely satisfying. We saw players obviously ramming each other into—or away from—divergent paths and choke-points; using their burlier craft to muscle quicker-but-twitchier boats out of the way; and even using the (always available) Boost power-up they just snagged—but which the slowpoke in front of them somehow missed—to inexorably plow forward into a front-runner bobbing up on a wave, thus flipping him completely over from behind. You've heard the phrase “cussing like a sailor”? Yeah, we had some of that going on, too.

In addition, Hydro Thunder Hurricane will offer Gauntlet races (time-trial + explosive barrel obstacles), a Ring-gate mode (a traditional race that requires players to maneuver through a set series of ring-gates, thusly illustrating some of the optimal race-lines) and a Championship, which presents all the events as a contest against A.I. racers.

Hydro Thunder Hurricane is an XBLA exclusive; wade back into the GR deep-end for a full review when this action-packed wake-racer title surfaces in July 2010.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hydro Thunder Hurricane


More On GameRevolution