More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Fluidity Spin Cycle Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
12/21/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Curve Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Rolling, rolling, rolling, as a River.

In Fluidity, a rolling platforming-puzzler where you control a pool of water, it's the environment that you shift on its axis to move the water downhill rather than controlling the water directly. Fluidity: Spin Cycle (called Hydroventure: Spin Cycle in Europe) might be better called a reimagining than a sequel or port to the WiiWare original. The art style has been updated to a cute, cartoon-oriented look and it's been given a picture-book story, but more importantly is its use of the 3DS gyroscope that syncs perfectly with the 3DS top screen.

The story of Fluidity: Spin Cycle is a cute affair about magical Rainbow Sprites that help produce vibrant works of art. But Gloop, a black viscous fluid, gets jealous and pours itself into a picture book, ruining the art and imprisoning the Rainbow Sprites. As a Water Sprite, it's your job to free the Rainbow Sprites and destroy the Gloop.



At first the game starts out simply; titling the 3DS in one direction or the other to cause your water sprite, which dissolves into a pool of water at the leve's beginning, in one direction or the other. It wasn't until four levels in, when 360-degree motion becomes available, that the game really takes off. As you spin or turn the 3DS, the water always moves down, making the puzzles a challenge.

With holes and divergent paths, it can be difficult to keep all the water of your water sprite together or there may be water drops along different paths. For this the game has a "gather" mechanic that allows you to bring all of your water together. Collecting drops of water throughout the level can grant you backup water for if you leave some behind, but how much water you have at the end of a level affects your rating, so it's definitely in the player's best interest not to lose any.



With the exception of the jump button, virtually all interactions by your avatar are manipulated dynamically. You move the character by tilting or rotating the 3DS, and gather water and flip switches using virtual buttons on the bottom screen. This makes the game very physically dynamic, and the Nintendo PR rep described speed runs to me by development staff where they would flip or spin the 3DS in the air to get it in the right position the fastest (sounds like they're cavalier with their 3DS hardware). The only negative was that I occasionally tapped the Home button while rotating the portable console, but this was easily fixed by adjusting my hand position.

Fluidity: Spin Cycle is a cute game that will retail at $10.99. The game may take between 5-7 hours to play through initially, but promises much more play time if the player attempts to get a perfect rating on the levels, and that's replay value that clear right from the start.

Fluidity: Spin Cycle releases on the Nintendo E-Shop for 3DS on December 27, 2012.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fluidity Spin Cycle


More On GameRevolution