More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

Hyrule Warriors Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
06/11/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Tecmo Koei 
RELEASE DATE 09/26/2014
RP What do these ratings mean?

A Dynasty of Zelda.

The stakes have never been higher for Dynasty Warriors. Even though the series is typically given average grades in the States, its commercial success in Japan has kept it alive for years without much of a care in the world. Every iteration hardly innovates on the last, doing just enough to sprinkle a few improvements to keep the formula moving forward. But now developer Omega Force, with the welcome assistance of Team Ninja, has been forced to break out some courage for Hyrule Warriors, a Zelda-centric Dynasty Warriors that needs to be much more than just a simple swap of a skin.

While I tolerate Dynasty Warriors and largely give the benefit of the doubt, Zelda usually comes out when it's good and ready, and Zelda fans expect nothing less. The main question is whether the developers have done enough to infuse enough Zelda elements without shoehorning them in. Merely having Link kill mobs and mobs of goblins in various bases strewn throughout some field isn't enough.



In this incarnation of the Zelda storyline, Link is a soldier for the Hyrulian Army who must save Zelda who has been kidnapped by Cia, the witch and protector of the Triforce, out of jealousy over Link (who just can't seem to control his attractiveness, it seems). Ultimately, Link and Impa (Midna will be available as well) must defeat her forces and save Zelda before it's too late. So with a bow, sword, shield, or magical staff, the Hyrulian Kingdom must be saved, protected, and cleansed of evil.

As you might expect, the playable character has access to a string of weak and normal attacks with various ending effects that could be strong against individual foes or crowd control. Gathering enough magic from jars or would otherwise be a rage meter unleashes special damage modes and attacks; Zelda whips out a gigantic bow with an arrow of light that can pierce through a swathe of enemies in a wide line. Every once in a while, you can use an item whether it be a crowd-clearing bomb or a health potion. Luckily, you'll be able to find recover items in clay pots or hearts, in addition to showers of rupees, that spew from fallen enemies.



Meanwhile, your character must defeat semi-boss lizalfos and giant King Dodongos, protect Goron captains, and perhaps join with a friend for simple co-operative play. Working similar to other Dynasty Warriors titles, you must clear out bosses of all kinds to claim bases for the Hyrulian side, earning experience for leveling and an ever higher K.O. tally. Along the way, you'll open large chests with awesome items hidden inside

My only wish for Hyrule Warriors is that it doesn't take itself too seriously but also respects the Zelda franchise enough not to phone it in. (And that it also adds badass Ganondorf.) I don't think anyone should expect a glorious, groundbreaking title here; just a breezy tongue-in-cheek diversion that shows off the lighter side of the series. Hyrule Warirors releases for Wii U on September 26, 2014.
More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hyrule Warriors


More On GameRevolution