More Reviews
REVIEWS NBA LIVE 15 Review
Yes, NBA Live was horrible last year. But this year's entry is a vast improvement. Just give it a try.

Dungeon of the Endless Review
A roguelike that’s equal parts charming and challenging with a turn-based twist.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Vainglory Preview
Multiplayer online battle arenas have grown in popularity, yet Super Evil Megacorp hopes to give the franchise new, vibrant life on tablet. I went hands-on to find out if it can be done.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Hyrule Warriors Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
08/30/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Tecmo Koei 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Ladies of Hyrule, I salute you.

When Nintendo announces a new game in The Legend of Zelda franchise, fans typically go berserk and the experience begins to build excitement through release with mystery shrouding the overarching series narrative. Will we encounter new characters? Will the story veer off in an unexpected direction and surprise us with a big twist? More often than not these questions go unanswered until release day, until someone takes the game home and plays through the entire thing in one sitting. That doesn’t necessarily hold true with Hyrule Warriors.

This latest Zelda game doesn’t seem to care that much about its story given that the Dynasty Warriors brand has long established a mechanics-first approach, tying fans up in knots with intersecting and fluid character dramas in ancient times. In this way, Hyrule Warriors may prove the best version of a DW game for myself and anyone looking for something other than Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros. to play on Wii U this holiday season.

For the PAX Prime 2014 demo, I got to play as Ganondorf. The character select screen had a few hidden tiles, but you’ll be able to choose from a large variety of heroes. The full list includes Link (obviously), Princess Zelda, Lana, Impa, Sheik, Darunia, Princess Ruto, Midna, Agitha, Fi, and Ganondorf, Zant, and Ghirahim. As a less-than-diehard Legend of Zelda fan, I don’t even recognize all those names. Further, Hyrule Warriors stands against franchise-tradition by offering more playable female characters than male giving fans the chance to potentially encourage Nintendo to make an entire Zelda game based on… well, possibly Princess Zelda herself.

In fact, I got to watch someone else play as Princess Zelda and she seemed more my style than Ganondorf, especially since every character has different stats, moves, strengths, and weaknesses. Where Zelda could use her rapier to pierce crowded battlefields, Ganondorf swung his blades like clubs and smashed enemies like the thug he is. While the Dynasty Warriors influence is unmissable given that the core gameplay feels largely unchanged, Hyrule Warriors features some beautiful animations, textures, and lighting.

If you’ve never played a game in the Musou series (as its known in Japan) or any of the spin-offs featuring samurais or Gundam, then Hyrule Warriors will walk you through the general mechanics. Rather than solving puzzles in a dungeon, you’ll fight hordes of opponents to clear an enemy stronghold. The battlefield will seem large and flooded with enemies, but steady progress opens up new lanes and eventually leads to a larger showdown with a tough boss. I died before reaching that point, but it didn’t take long to get the hang of combat and the flow of battle.

While I think some diehard Zelda fans might be turned away by the drastically altered gameplay loops, the overall ruthlessness in slaying a thousand enemies in a single level, or the fact that Hyrule Warriors would ruin the timeline if you tried to place the plot within the mythos, I can’t wait to play more. There’s an immediately addictive element in DW gameplay that just needs to pluck the right string in order to hook a new player and the Zelda brand will likely do the trick for millions of Wii U owners.

While games have slowly built a balance between the sexes, the medium continues to struggle with creating powerful female characters that can hold a candle to their male counterparts and that’s either by market design or apathy. Nintendo has done a lot to emphasize their own affinity for including all demographics, especially as the number of games where you can play as Princess Peach grows and Hyrule Warriors is no different. I think we all knew Princess Zelda could kick serious ass though I’ll always welcome a game that tries to blur the line between what we perceive as a damsel and a hero(ine).

Hyrule Warriors will be available on Nintendo Wii U on September 26th in the US. PAL territory gamers can expect it one week earlier while the game is available in Japan now.

More GR previews for this game:
Hyrule Warriors preview posted on 06/11/14.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hyrule Warriors


More On GameRevolution