More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

I Heart Geeks! Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
07/28/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER cdv Software Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Independent Arts 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

F = MA, A (acceleration) = G (gravity), M (mass) = R (relation between a body and a number), F = MR = GR.


After all of the years I've spent as a geek (darn game addictions!), it's nice to finally see a game that not only justifies the geek existence, but makes me dust off my pocket protector, fix my glasses with all the necessary tape, and head out into the world with no fear! It's all about the Pentiums, baby! Those jocks are going down! (Don't hurt him... too much. ~Ed. Nick)

click to enlargeI Heart Geeks (or “I <3 Geeks”) for the DS is all about geek pride: It's filled with physics puzzles, gadgetry, and using what you've got to do whatever's asked of you. The package is a resurgence of the classic PC title The Incredible Machine, which was based entirely on using spare parts to achieve the goal at hand. At first the goals are small and simple, like pushing a ball into a basket or popping the balloon, and after getting used to that, you're given a more interesting challenge: getting back at those darn bullies that have been shoving you into your locker like your old, unwashed gym shorts.

The perk of this game being on a system like the DS (and not simply on PC) is that the touch-screen is totally worth using. Using a mouse and keyboard is nice, but a stylus puts the control system over the edge of gimmickry. With a game like this, the movement of parts is what needs to be as precise as possible. The range of parts is nice, with boards, springs, conveyor belts, cogs, and chains - and many others - which makes it amusing even when you can't figure out where the hell anything's supposed to go.

click to enlargeThe art style is really adorable... these are the geeks from every fun Saturday morning cartoon series, as they move (a.k.a. run away) while  using their superior brain power to put those big bad bullies in their place!

Watch for this one in Q3 of this year... just keep up with the homework, OK?

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about I Heart Geeks!