More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

ICO and Shadow of the Colossus Collection Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
08/24/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Team ICO 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

HD time heals all wounds.


OK, so… imagine two of the out-and-out prettiest games of the PS2 era. Take those games, shine them up really nice, have them play exactly the sameflaws and alland put them both on one disc for a not-standard-full-retail price, and you've got a damn fine concoction of two of the greatest artistic games to come out… ever.

I'm talking about Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, by the way. Y'know, in case you didn't get it from the title of the preview or the opening sentences.


For the initiated, a quick run-down of the stories for each game: Ico is about a horny young man young boy with horns who picks up a ghostly chick and tries to help her escape a mysterious castle. Along the way, shadows try to steal the girl for an unknown reason. Likewise, Shadow of the Colossus is all about protecting the girl, except that she needs saving by killing and taking the power of 16 Colossi to bring her back to life.

Director Fumito Ueda's design philosophy of "design by subtraction" is fully showcased; there is very little dialogue in both games, just enough to set the scene. Beyond that, it's up to the player to move forward and figure out the world they're in.

Looking back over the originals, I could see how the developers got away with the beautiful visuals, especially in Ico; a lot of blur and light fogging is evident looking back on them. They're pixelated around their edges and the framerate is a bit compromised, but that doesn't negate the face that they have a style unlike anything else on PS2. Thankfully, the muddied image the PS2 managed has been touched up to an amazing degree on PS3, and they now look as though they belong on a next-gen platform. I know that's the point, but not every game can pull it off; both Ico and Shadow can, and that's damn impressive on its own.



The only real addition is of trophies, and they're pretty standard fare: defeat this or that Colossus, find this or that weapon, finish the game in a certain amount of time (really, Ico in two hours? WTF?).

Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is scheduled to release in late September, and in the Ueda way... that's all you need to know.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about ICO and Shadow of the Colossus Collection