More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Illbleed Preview

By:
G-Wok
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/Adventure 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Jaleco 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now

Break out the Band-Aids.

If you've ever stayed up for a late night round of channel surfing, you've probably borne witness to some of the dregs of film school. Every once in a while, however, you'll stumble across a gem. A film so noteworthy, it stands like a shining diamond amongst a sea of cubic zirconia. My friends, I'm talking about the classic "B" movie.

With the increasing popularity of survival-horror games on our favorite gaming platforms, it was only a matter of time before a true B movie made an appearance. Welcome to Illbleed, one of the most…uh...interesting games to grace the GR doorstep. With a combination of horror and humor, it's "B"-ness shines like Godzilla's Dance of Joy.

Fictitious B-movie producer Michael Reynolds is the creator of a famous theme park known as "Illbleed." Reynolds has issued a challenge to all comers - survive the horrors of the park and win ONE MILLION DOLLARS (uh, that's one million fictitious dollars, of course). People go in, but they never come out. Mwahaha…

You're Eriko, the leader of the horror club at Castle Rock School. A few of your fellow club members stupidly went into the park and were never heard from again. So like any other purple-haired heroine, you've got to venture into the park to save their butts from danger. Just remember not to run into the woods, take a shower, or (of course) get freaky. Those people die every time.

Unlike the average horror game where every zombie is trying to grab a taste of your juicy cerebellum, Illbleed sets out to scare you to death through traps, monsters and other horrific events. Your weapons? Sight, hearing, smell, and sixth sense, just to name a few. You'll have to use them effectively to escape the horrors of the park. Each time you encounter a nasty surprise or shock, your character's heart begins to race and your very life will be threatened by a simple heart attack.

So armed with your trusty senses, you'll face a ton of shock events that threaten to put you six feet under. And when I say shock, I mean spine tingling, pants wetting, heart stopping shock. Anything and everything IS out to get you. See that innocent-looking lightbulb in the corner? It's a monster. That computer monitor you're staring at? Definitely a death trap. The pus-oozing zombie with a blowtorch hiding behind the curtains? Well, duh.

Promising a refreshing blend of gameplay along with fear and fun rolled into one, Illbleed is one frightfest survival-horror fans should watch for. We'll just have to keep our eyes out this February and hope this game comes packed with its own electrocardiograph. Clear!


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Illbleed