More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Injustice: Gods Among Us Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER NetherRealm Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Say your prayers.



I love Mortal Kombat. For the past decade of my life I prayed for the day my favorite franchise would return to the classic formula that made me love it in the first place, and last year, it did. It’s those same things that I found so enthralling in the Mortal Kombat retelling that are evident in every nook and cranny of NetherRealm Studio’s new game based on the DC Universe of characters and lore, Injustice: Gods Among Us.

Familiar nuances are everywhere in Injustice, from supermoves, to the 2D plane with 3D character models, down to the way Batman uses his grappling hook exactly like Scorpion would his spear. The DC superheroes and villains movesets don’t differ much from the typical kombatant, but easily surpass them with finesse, velocity, and sheer power.

Supermoves are spectacular, to the purest definition of the word, and are perfectly fitting for each of the DC comic characters. The Flash blazes a trail across the entire planet to pick up enough speed for one serious sucker punch. Superman, with his locomotive-besting power, uppercuts his opponent out of the Earth’s atmosphere, leaps past tall buildings to catch and powerslam a beaten and battered body back into the arena pavement.



Each stage is ripped right out of comic books, spanning many different areas. The right attack can send a player several blocks away or down through floors of a building into the basement. Environments are as detailed as they are deadly, providing plenty of opportunity for interactivity and destruction, even using certain aspects as weapons. Weapons even react differently depending on superhero or super power.

Only six characters were shown during E3, but the character selection screen has room for 24 heroes and villains. Plus, with NetherRealm calling the shots, there’s bound to be some secrets or hidden characters. The biggest surprises, however, are sure to be storyline-related, as this is an all-new take on the storied characters said to blur the line between good and evil. I don’t know, leaving my demo I felt malefic, but only because I have to wait so long to get my hands on the full Injustice: Gods Among Us experience.


More GR previews for this game:
Injustice: Gods Among Us preview posted on 01/30/13.
Tags:   E3, Warner Bros
IF YOU WANT TO CHAT, HIT ME UP

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Injustice: Gods Among Us


More On GameRevolution