More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Injustice: Gods Among Us Preview

Anthony_Severino By:
Anthony_Severino
06/06/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Warner Bros. Interactive 
DEVELOPER NetherRealm Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?



I love Mortal Kombat. For the past decade of my life I prayed for the day my favorite franchise would return to the classic formula that made me love it in the first place, and last year, it did. It’s those same things that I found so enthralling in the Mortal Kombat retelling that are evident in every nook and cranny of NetherRealm Studio’s new game based on the DC Universe of characters and lore, Injustice: Gods Among Us.

Familiar nuances are everywhere in Injustice, from supermoves, to the 2D plane with 3D character models, down to the way Batman uses his grappling hook exactly like Scorpion would his spear. The DC superheroes and villains movesets don’t differ much from the typical kombatant, but easily surpass them with finesse, velocity, and sheer power.

Supermoves are spectacular, to the purest definition of the word, and are perfectly fitting for each of the DC comic characters. The Flash blazes a trail across the entire planet to pick up enough speed for one serious sucker punch. Superman, with his locomotive-besting power, uppercuts his opponent out of the Earth’s atmosphere, leaps past tall buildings to catch and powerslam a beaten and battered body back into the arena pavement.



Each stage is ripped right out of comic books, spanning many different areas. The right attack can send a player several blocks away or down through floors of a building into the basement. Environments are as detailed as they are deadly, providing plenty of opportunity for interactivity and destruction, even using certain aspects as weapons. Weapons even react differently depending on superhero or super power.

Only six characters were shown during E3, but the character selection screen has room for 24 heroes and villains. Plus, with NetherRealm calling the shots, there’s bound to be some secrets or hidden characters. The biggest surprises, however, are sure to be storyline-related, as this is an all-new take on the storied characters said to blur the line between good and evil. I don’t know, leaving my demo I felt malefic, but only because I have to wait so long to get my hands on the full Injustice: Gods Among Us experience.
More GR previews for this game:
Injustice: Gods Among Us preview posted on 01/30/13.
Tags:   E3, Warner Bros
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Injustice: Gods Among Us