More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Jazz Faust Preview

Johnny_Liu By:
Johnny_Liu
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER 1C Company 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Use of Drugs, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

And you thought adventures were dead...

Year after year, the game industry is buzzing with theories about why the adventure genre has faded in popularity. The one I personally agree with is that the genre hasn't actually died at all, but rather has been integrated into others genres. Ever since Tomb Raider broke open the Action/Adventure category, most games have attempted to include elements of both gameplay styles.

However, classic adventure games still hold a warm place in many a jaded gamer's heart. When a preview build of Jazz and Faust appeared at GR, I was more than happy to take a peek at this little-known title.

Jazz and Faust is an upcoming graphical adventure game from Russian game developer 1C. You have your choice of two playable characters: the crafty smuggler Jazz or the good ship captain Faust. Man, these poor guys must have hippie parents to be branded with such wacky names.

Both characters will have separate adventures, but their stories will criss and cross (perhaps even making you jump, jump). It's still a little early to tell how strong the literary side of the game will be, but the Middle Age universe holds a great deal of promise. The two-pronged character choices should lay the tracks for some welcome replay. With an impressive 86 scenes to explore and a ton of characters to interact with, there's sure to be a great deal of adventure in this title.

The game recalls point and click adventure games of yore - particularly the classic King's Quest series - with expansive, picturesque backgrounds. Use your trusty little cursor to search for the hot zones, and inventory puzzles and clever item usage rule the day.

What I've liked most about Jazz and Faust so far is that despite the lack of cutting edge technology, the artwork is very smart. The backgrounds are epic and seem to reference the scenic backdrops of old Europe. There's a full day and night cycle and the lighting effects are nicely done. It might not be on an engine to rival Unreal, but Jazz and Faust is no slouch.

The voices are still Russian in the preview build, plus it seems Jazz and Faust have been mystically imbued with the power to walk through everything. Chalk that up to beta status. Heh.

Still, I'm interested in what these hippie children on opposite sides of the law will find in their journeys, and if you're a fan of the genre just waiting for another adventure, this might be your ticket as well. Expect it on shelves in May 2002.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Jazz Faust


More On GameRevolution