More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Jurassic Park Preview

Mike_Bryant By:
Mike_Bryant
02/18/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Telltale Games 
DEVELOPER Telltale Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Quick! Point and click that T-Rex!


Jurassic Park, the video game! No, not that one. Or that one. Not that one either. No… a new one, kinda. A game that takes you through the story and setting of the original Crichton classic. Who can take you through this roller coaster ride of adrenaline and extinct reptiles (or birds or whatever)? Why, only the masters of action-packed gaming, uh… Telltale Games?

click to enlargeHmm… that did not sound right. As far as I know, Telltale Games releases the episodic point-and-click puzzle-solving games so reminiscent of the computer games available before porn… I mean, the Internet (yeah, there was a "before the internet"). So how are they going to mesh their style of gameplay with the high intensity we are used to from the Jurassic Park franchise? This journalist had to put his beer down and find out. (No, literally, it's hard to hold a beer cup and play video games.)

As the demo starts, you are greeted with some familiar visuals. It is a dark and stormy night. Palm trees sway to and fro as the topical winds rush through the layers of jungle that inhabit the tiny island. On a muddy, rain-washed dirt road, the good old SUV with the Jurassic Park logo emblazoned on the side speeds through.

The passengers of this vehicle? No Dr. Grant, no Ellie Sattler. Not even Jeff Goldblum. None of these characters will be in the video game. They will be mentioned here and there; however, the game will revolve around new characters that are desperately trying to navigate their way off of Isla Nublar. (No worries, though, as they will be wearing khaki cargo pants.) These new characters are identified as a man, his pigtailed daughter, and a lady passed out in the back. No, I do not remember their names (see beer comment above).

click to enlargeThe travels of these protagonists are halted by a triceratops in the road while it lazily munches on a bit of fallen palm. Now the game begins. What to do, what to do? The point-and-click options are displayed before you. Do you try to move the gate? Can’t. Do you move the palm? Nope. Hmm… through trial and error and frustrated button=pressing, I must honk the horn, then shine the lights at the slothful beast in order to get it to move. Is that it? Do we move on now? Of course not. The angered triceratops begins to charge the SUV, and another round of frantic button pressing begins.

Now, I do not mean to make it sound as if there is no action in the game. There is. It happens around the characters as you look for the right option to point and click, and granted, I only played one segment of what promises to be a whole adventure of pointing and clicking. Many puzzles will have to be solved and, since it is Jurassic Park, I am sure there will be plenty of T-Rexes and Raptors ripping things to shreds and generally making things difficult for you. Telltale Games make quality stuff, and there is no reason to think that Jurassic Park: The Game should be any different. Plus, it will be released on the PS3, so the pointing and clicking will feel more like a video game.

The first episode of Jurassic Park: The Game will be released in April, with many more episodes to follow, on PC, Mac, and PS3.
More GR previews for this game:
Jurassic Park preview posted on 02/18/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Jurassic Park


More On GameRevolution