More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Kickbeat Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
02/11/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm / Music 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER ZEN Studios 
DEVELOPER ZEN Studios 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Punch that beat.

To me, like many rhythm game fans in the PS2 era, the release of Amplitude, the sequel to Harmonix's Frequency, was a big deal. Because my anticipation was at such a fevered pitch when I first slid it in, I had the cruel misfortune of actually enjoying the P.O.D. song “Boom", a psychological trick for which I will never forgive the developers. Now every time I hear it, I feel like playing a music game while punching people in the face, an inclination I feared would one day get the best of me.

Not a moment too soon, Zen Studios has come to my rescue. Thanks to their new rhythm action game KickBeat for Vita, I can pummel dudes freely, yelling “BOOOOM!” to punctuate each landed blow, and my only penalty will be embarrassing myself on the train instead of being sent to jail.



KickBeat throws you on a dance floor and surrounds you with packs of enemies, who move into position before attacking you to the beat of the music. Using a combination of d-pad and button presses, you pound your would-be attackers before they can lay their hands on you, ideally creating a long, flowing string of moves that looks as much like a choreographed kung-fu fight as they do a dance routine.

Martial arts and dancing already have so much synergy (just look at capoeira) that it seems preposterous that games have never married the two as directly as KickBeat does. Zen has done a good job of capturing the best of both worlds here, with animations that clearly had a lot of love poured into them. Originally, Zen went as far as hiring a martial arts expert to provide motion capture data, but after spending much time and even more money, they weren't happy with the look and feel, at which point they decided to hand-animate everything. The results speak for themselves: It will make you feel both balletic and empowered while laying down the smack.



Aside from P.O.D., aka the greatest band ever, KickBeat sports a mix of other licensed artists as well as original compositions. Because of the combat-oriented gameplay, most of the songs are understandably upbeat, energetic, and aggressive, but if you want to kick ass while listening to ABBA, your prayers have been answered. KickBeat allows you to import any mp3s you've stored on your Vita, giving you an infinite amount of replay value. I wasn't able to test this feature out personally, but if it works well, you'll have a limitless supply of tracks to play to.

I may or may not be importing the entire track list from Amplitude and Frequency when I get my hands on a retail copy of KickBeat, which releases this Spring. Kung Fu + Freezepop? Yes, please!
Tags:   Zen Studios

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Kickbeat


More On GameRevolution